Logitech Headphone problem

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Logitech Headphone problem

Postby gopher on Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:18 am

Hi there, I did a search of the forum (and had been googling before that) for a thread similiar to this, but I didn't find one. So, my problem is that I am running my usb headphones and I can hear the test beeps in Control Center > Sound and I can hear the pidgin sounds, but aside from these all other sound goes to the speaks. I am running linux mint 7 and following from what I saw in other threads here are my stats

lspci
Code: Select all
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev a1)
00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev a1)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev a1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS] (rev a1)



and lsusb
Code: Select all
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 046d:0a0c Logitech, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 1267:0210 Logic3 / SpectraVideo plc
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub


I'm relatively new to linux and am at a loss on where to go from here.
gopher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:03 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Logitech Headphone problem

Postby RedWagon on Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:24 am

This is a very easy fix, go to Menu -> Sound & Video -> Pulseaudio Volume Control, select the Playback tab and for anything you want playing through the headphones click the little triangle in the upper right hand corner, goto move stream and select the one with USB Audio in it. Please note that sound must be playing for a stream to show up in playback. If you always use your headset, you can also go to the Output Devices tab, click the upper right hand triangle on the USB Audio one and select default. Pulseaudio should remember your preferences so you will only have to do this once.
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Logitech Headphone problem

Postby gopher on Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:02 am

That got music working through the headphones, yet the movies still want to play through the speakers
gopher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:03 am

Re: Logitech Headphone problem

Postby RedWagon on Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:40 am

Play a movie, and find the stream in the Playback tab and move it to USB Audio. You will have to do this to every program.
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Logitech Headphone problem

Postby gopher on Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:45 am

RedWagon wrote:Play a movie, and find the stream in the Playback tab and move it to USB Audio. You will have to do this to every program.


Ahh, cheers. Thankyou RedWagon.
gopher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:03 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BiohaZd, dexl, Google [Bot] and 55 guests