Wireless Connection

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Wireless Connection

Postby DeroCom on Mon May 28, 2007 12:08 pm

I am very new to this Distro, but familiar to Linux. I have integrated wireless on my Laptop, and have installed the driver for my Broadcom Airforce One. I have tried a lot of suggestions on this site, but I cannot connect!

I even tried this...(wlanassist at root terminal)

X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 166
Major opcode: 144
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 166
Major opcode: 144
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
Creating link /root/.kde/socket-ross-laptop.
Created link from "/root/.kde/socket-ross-laptop" to "/tmp/ksocket-root"
/usr/bin/iceauth: creating new authority file /root/.ICEauthority
Creating link /root/.kde/tmp-ross-laptop.
Created link from "/root/.kde/tmp-ross-laptop" to "/tmp/kde-root"
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 166
Major opcode: 144
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 166
Major opcode: 144
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
Session management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
kbuildsycoca running...
Creating link /root/.kde/cache-ross-laptop.
Created link from "/root/.kde/cache-ross-laptop" to "/var/tmp/kdecache-root"
kio (KService*): WARNING: The desktop entry file /usr/share/applications/DefaultPlugins.desktop has Type=Link instead of "Application" or "Service"
kio (KService*): WARNING: Invalid Service : /usr/share/applications/DefaultPlugins.desktop
kio (KSycoca): ERROR: No database available!
Loaded application options.
DHCP Client: dhclient
All executables found.
iwconfig_status: /sbin/iwconfig
==>stderr: lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

Wireless interface(s): eth1
Permissions checked.
ifconfig_status: /sbin/ifconfig eth1
ifup: /sbin/ifconfig eth1 up
==>stderr: SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
scan: /sbin/iwlist eth1 scan
==>stderr: eth1 Interface doesn't support scanning : No such device

No networks found!

HELP!!
DeroCom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Moosup,CT

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Tue May 29, 2007 12:55 pm

Welcome to Mint DeroCom
The X Errors is a "bug" in Bianca KDE - it's something like Synaptics touchpad configured in X, but you don't have it - hence the errors.
Broadcom Airforce One could mean several chips in the bcm43xx family. bcm43xx is supported by ndiswrapper. The grub of my computer with Bianca KDE has at the moment gone west due to a failed install of a non Debian Linux, so I can't check how to use ndiswrapper there.
But it is possible to install mintWifi with Adept and use that
After install you have to go to /usr/lib/linuxmint and read the html files in there to get advice on how to proceed.
bcm43xx is one of the most common wifi chpisets and should not give any problems
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby DeroCom on Thu May 31, 2007 6:01 pm

Thanks for the reply Husse.
I will bang around a bit and see what I can do. I appreciate the feedback.

You said the X error was from the touchpad, but I do have one and it works well. I am running Gnome, however. I am running an HP Pavilion
zv6000 series.

Thanks again!
DeroCom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Moosup,CT

Postby Husse on Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:20 am

You're running gnome??
Creating link /root/.kde/socket-ross-laptop.

There are several lines like that. It could exist in gnome I suppose as you (might) have a .kde folder in gnome too.
But the error is in my experience KDE. You get it in Bianca KDE when you open a terminal among other things. It's not necessarily a synaptics touchpad, but some I/O device in xorg.conf that is configured the wrong way that (supposedly) gives the X errors
Oh - and if you run Bianca gnome mintWifi is there by default
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 999mintie, MSN [Bot] and 23 guests