Problem mounting windows partition

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Problem mounting windows partition

Postby whvann08 on Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:14 pm

I have just started having problems mounting windows partitions. I don't know why unless it was from an update because I could mount it not long ago. I am running Mint 6 gnome. What can I look for or do to fix this. I have looked at the permission on the windows partition and it could not be determined. I don't know if it is a permission problem but I am logged in under user not root.

Thanks
Henry
Image
whvann08
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem mounting windows partition

Postby Fred on Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:33 pm

whvann08,

I don't know if you are referring to auto mounting on boot or manual mounting on demand, but the below reference may help you with auto mounting.

viewtopic.php?f=42&t=22093

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Problem mounting windows partition

Postby whvann08 on Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:33 pm

Thanks but I feel like the on demand is the type of mounting that I was running. Where I can click on the windows partition in my computer example HP Pavilion. Then it would mount that drive and I could browse the files and so on. But now It will not mount. Which is real important to me because I share a lot of stuff between the two OS. What can I check for the on demand mounting of this partition

Thank
Henry


BTW Good to see someone else from NC.
Image
whvann08
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Problem mounting windows partition

Postby whvann08 on Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:52 pm

I just went in and set up my root account to see if it was a permission issue that I was having but with no luck I still could not mount my ntfs partition for windows.

thanks
Henry
Image
whvann08
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Problem mounting windows partition (solved)

Postby whvann08 on Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:36 am

problem solved
Image
whvann08
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Problem mounting windows partition (solved)

Postby rlindsey0 on Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:12 am

whvann08 wrote:problem solved


Perhaps you could explain how you solved it, so that other forum readers in the future could benefit?
Olivia 15 Cinnamon 64, dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64 SP1, Clevo W150ER 15.6" laptop, i7 3630M, 16 GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB/HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, Nvidia GT 650M 1 GB, USB 3.0 HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, HP Photosmart C5280
rlindsey0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:12 am

Re: Problem mounting windows partition

Postby whvann08 on Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:11 pm

I'm sorry it was late last night when I figured this out. The problem was with windows. For some reason in the detail of the error that Mint was giving me it said that the partition was active but I could not figure out why.. What I think happened was that the last time I was running windows the computer was turned off with out shutting down windows. Power outage that we may of had last week. I don't use windows much so I had not booted back up in windows before now. I had to boot up windows then shut it down like it should have been done. Now back in Mint I can mount my ntfs any time. :D

Sorry for the delay on the reply.

Henry
Image
whvann08
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], GlynG and 29 guests