can't find screens error

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:34 pm

i have vista home basic (32 bit)
my processor is an AMD Athlon(tm :D) 64 X2 Dual core
trying mint 7

1. burned iso to cd
2. chose demo and full
3. chose help me boot from cd

rebooted
chose mint_main_blahblah

what happened:
cmd(looking thing) said bug [######] no connected clock
one of the * things was red (it disapears quick)
then when the cow or bear shows up i enter ---> startx
and get the cant find screens error

any ideas?
(should i add more info, or some screens or some thing :?: )
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:26 am

Try starting the liveCD in compatibility mode. When the countdown appears, press any key, then select compatibility.
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:00 am

i get no count down, and no option like that
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:14 am

Hmm... Can you walk me through what you are doing more precisely. Specifically, what you are doing when you say:
2. chose demo and full
3. chose help me boot from cd

rebooted
chose mint_main_blahblah

Specifically, are you performing these steps from Vista's desktop?
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:31 am

thats, what im choosing for the installer on the CD,
and the int main thing is after the reboot, it's the option i choose when dual booting
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:41 am

Ok. Can you try something? Put the cd into your computer on your Vista desktop. When the window you have been working with comes up, just close it. Then restart your computer. Boot the cd (you may need to hit a certain key or change bios settings to boot to a cd). A live environment should load automatically (preceeded by the countdown to which I was referring). It's possible, however, that it will just give the same error it did the last time. If so, just restart again and select compatibility mode. If one of those works, you should just be able to follow the instructions in the user guide:
http://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/linuxmint.com/ ... nglish.pdf

Notes:
1) You may want to defragment windows before you do any kind of repartitioning for dual booting. The results should be far better.
2) Moving/Resizing partitions can take a LOOONG time. You may have to leave it running for several hours or overnight depending on your computer's specs.
3) If you know what Mint4Win is and were intending on using it, don't install this way and tell me.
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:24 am

i have a partitioned space, no mint4win thats why i have the partitioned space,

" live environment should load automatically (preceeded by the countdown to which I was referring). "

mint linux gets the loading screen, then goes to what looks like CMD, and loads stuff

* like this
6 or so of the stared things appear the one befor the last is red, then that stuff disapears, and the legal warning appears with

the joke or message

and
$ the cash symbol in blue i enter > startx
and get the error
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:31 am

Hmm.. do you ever see something that looks like this?:
Image
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:33 am

no, i don't

i do get boot options, but they're
no api
and other stuff, i've tried booting with them, no luck
and there's no compatibility mode option, and i have to press ESC with in a time limit to see the booting options.
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby exploder on Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:22 pm

If you press "any key" on the screen clhodapp has posted you will get an options menu.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5871
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:49 pm

how would i do that if that screen never shows up?
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:56 pm

I think I know what your problems are and what the solutions are:
1) you installed mint from the vista desktop. this creates a mint4win install. uninstall it from vista's programs and features menu.
2) your computer isn't configured for booting from cd. change your bios settings.
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:15 pm

1) you installed mint from the vista desktop. this creates a mint4win install. uninstall it from vista's programs and features menu.
2) your computer isn't configured for booting from cd. change your bios settings.



how am i suposto install mint then with out it being mint4win? because i want mint on an independant enviroment (i've uninstalled mint4win)

help me boot from cd fixes my computer not booting from the cd(the key to change the bios is very elusive(not ESC or F1 or F2)
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:02 am

try all your F-keys and delete.
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:30 am

delete works, but there's no boot options.
is there a way to change it with regedit?

i've tried this
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>SYSTEM>CurrentControlSet>Control>SystemBootDevice>multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(0)

with no luck, any sugestions?
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: can't find screens error

Postby clhodapp on Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:39 am

You have to change it in your bios settings. There should be something about setting the boot order. Make sure that your disc drive appears before your hard drives.
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Re: can't find screens error

Postby mazing on Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:27 am

info on the error

on cd boot

MP BIOS bug [000000] timer not connected to ACPI

ther red * was paulse audio

my boot options are:

start installer in normal mode
start installer in safe graphic mode
start installer in ACPI work arround mode
start installer in verbose mode
start Read Only Demo

so i tried normal mode same error
then ACPI work arround mode

and got file "usr/bin/ubiquity-dm" line 230
then more line errors appear

then

fatal server error: no screens found

then the legal warning and joke
mazing
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aqmint, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], WharfRat and 35 guests