Reinstalling Mint before Vista

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Reinstalling Mint before Vista

Postby theevilone6620 on Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:33 pm

Okay so I have took vista off my drive and plan on reinstalling both Os's this time with Mint first and Vista second. I have my partitions setup right and was just confused about one thing. Right at step seven right before you confim the install. If you go into the advanced options it asks you were you want to install the bootloader. The default being hd0, however if you go into the options it lists dev/sda, devsda1,dev/sda2, dev/sda3 My before I had i had told it to sstallin GRUB on the partition that MINT was installing on but that was when vista was first. Now that mint is going to be my first and maybe only install, i might not even add vista I might wait till 7 is released actually. Do u just go with the default???
Check out my blog at http://mintguru.blogspot.com/If anyone would like to contribute to the project send me a message..
Follow me on Twitter http://twitter.com/LinuxDruid
User avatar
theevilone6620
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:40 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Reinstalling Mint before Vista

Postby RedWagon on Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:12 pm

If you install Windows second it will overwrite your MBR erasing Grub. This is really easy to fix, just burn a Super Grub disk, boot it and it should be able to automatically restore Grub so that you can properly dual boot. An easier solution is to install Windows first, and then Linux second. Linux will recognize that Windows is there and automatically add it to the boot options if you install it second.
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Reinstalling Mint before Vista

Postby Fred on Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:18 pm

theevilone6620,

In a word, yes. RedWagon's commentary is also relevant to the later install of Windows.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Reinstalling Mint before Vista

Postby theevilone6620 on Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:26 pm

ok now should swap be the last partition of my install? Also im wondering what a good sizze for it is. I have a x64bit system with 4GB of physical RAM I was thinking around 2GB as when I had my last mint install on this system it never even touched the swap?? Thanks for the help guys
Check out my blog at http://mintguru.blogspot.com/If anyone would like to contribute to the project send me a message..
Follow me on Twitter http://twitter.com/LinuxDruid
User avatar
theevilone6620
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:40 am

Re: Reinstalling Mint before Vista

Postby Fred on Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:53 pm

theevilone6620,

If this is a laptop that you may want to hibernate then 4.5 Gig swap at the end of the partition table. A desktop that won't be hibernated, 1 Gig would be plenty, also at the end of the partition table. It will probably almost never be used anyway on a general purpose desktop.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Reinstalling Mint before Vista

Postby RedWagon on Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:55 pm

ok im really confused here. I am installing mint first right with 3 partitions, one for/ one for home and one for swap. I will install windows 7 in a few months. Now if I install grub to MBR i no 7 will overwrite it so my plan was to install it to the / partition so that i can just configure 7 bootloader with bce and all will be good. however im unsure as to whether or not if i install grub to / now if i will be able to even boot my system? Doesnt GRUB have to go on MBR if its the only os on the drive?


Go ahead and put GRUB on / and you should be fine. GRUB is too big to fit in the MBR and is actually moves out of the MBR to the partition you specify before it boots. To put things simply GRUB is installed halfway on the MBR and halfway on a partition.
When you install 7 or Vista the MBR will be wiped out and so that first stage of GRUB will not load. To fix that just burn a copy of the Super Grub bootable disc and it has utilities that will restore GRUB back to the MBR which will then allow it to reach its second half on /
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Linny, zikozix and 46 guests