Divx Codecs

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Divx Codecs

Postby robinhoody on Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:20 am

I'll start off, this is my first post, and I'm a Linux n00b. Right now I have EVERYTHING working great in my Mint Cassandra box, except I'm having trouble playing videos online that use DivX Stage6.

I thought Mplayer was supposed to play videos that use divx codecs, but I guess not. Anyway, much help would be appreciated, I'm sure it's an easy fix, but I'll say it again, I've only been using Linux for about 48 hours.

My current distro is Cassandra.
robinhoody
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:31 am

check out this post :
http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... ivx&t=1161

mplayer will need a little config.
and check that divx is checked.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby robinhoody on Thu Jun 07, 2007 4:10 am

Boo wrote:check out this post :
http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... ivx&t=1161

mplayer will need a little config.
and check that divx is checked.

:D


Thanks for the help and quick response. :)

Divx was checked, but I followed the rest of the directions in the link. However, for some reason, it still won't work.

Here is a screen shot of the particular problem I'm having:
http://i12.tinypic.com/6cfddvn.png

It says the plugin is unknown... I am so confused.
robinhoody
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:23 pm

Postby Sorensei on Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:11 am

Hi,
Have you tried to see what the plugin is called? I've seen a number of sites streaming Divx using a "divx plugin" (it's a .exe, so of course it's not gonna work in Linux). :(
I haven't checked whether the mplayer option works in that case, but should you find a workaround this one, I'm interested... :wink:
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.
User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby nick on Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:08 am

Hi

Works O.K. on my box, I think? your link is http://tv-links.co.uk/show.do/2/143

Under divx, search in Synaptic. I have installed:

ffmpeg
gstreamer-ffmpeg
libavcodec
libvlc
mencoder
mplayer
transcode
vlc
vlc-nox
mozilla-mplayer

Also works in Konqueroror with kmplayer installed

Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby nick on Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:25 pm

Hi

I am running Bianca if you are having problem with Cassandra and Divx, this is a Feisty bug:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/112055

Firefox does not recognize that the mplayer plugin provides divx support in a standard installation of ubuntu feisty. Using about:config in firefox does not show the divx plugin even though divx support is provided in
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/mplayerplug-in-dvx.so
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/mplayerplug-in-dvx.xpt

Fix:

Moving these two files to /usr/lib/firefox/plugins/ solves the problem.

Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby Sorensei on Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:35 am

Nick,

Thanks!
I'm indeed using Cassandra and your previous posts explain a lot - I'll try the fix when I'm home. :D
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.
User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby Sorensei on Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:56 pm

Yep! It worked...

Thanks again! :D :D :D
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.
User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby nick on Fri Jul 13, 2007 2:08 pm

Hi Sorensei


Yep! It worked...


Thanks for that answer :)

Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: computer noob, hinto, xenopeek and 40 guests