Partitioning for fresh install - SOLVED

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby primavera on Sun Aug 16, 2009 4:42 pm

ok, here goes...
primavera
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 1:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby primavera on Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:23 pm

Yay, success! Thank you kindly for all your help Richy! I appreciate it. This is how my partitions turned out:
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (48.17 KiB) Viewed 450 times
primavera
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 1:05 am

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby primavera on Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:25 pm

One more question: what's the function of the swap?
primavera
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 1:05 am

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby richyrich on Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:32 pm

You can compare it to Windows virtual memory or Pagefile.
It's only used if you've maxed out your RAM usage.

EDIT: Oh Yea . . . WooHoo ! Image
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby smokeymtn_ron on Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:30 pm

Hi Richy,
I read somewhere that you can't boot from a extended partition, But you said
My GParted, (sda7 & 8 is my other Mint distro, so you can ignore them)

I want to install another Mint to play with and learn on without messing up my main one, but I've already used my 4 primary partitions. Will it run under a extended partition? If so, what partitions do I need and which ones can I forget that the original install will handle??
Thanks,
Ron
User avatar
smokeymtn_ron
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Southeast Asia

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby richyrich on Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:30 pm

Before installing the second distro I had 20 gigs of free space. When I went to install the second distro, I chose manual partition, and used the free space to create two new extended partitions, sda7 ( / ) & sda8 ( /home ). I pointed swap to my original swap from the first install, and mounted my existing /data partition ( without formatting ), then finish the install.
Grub made all the changes automatically, and when I finally performed my first reboot, I had the option to choose between distros at the initial Mint boot screen.

Richy

EDIT : See my screenshot on the previous page.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby smokeymtn_ron on Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:07 pm

Richy,
I chose manual partition, and used the free space to create two new extended partitions, sda7 ( / ) & sda8 ( /home ).

This part I understand.

I pointed swap to my original swap from the first install, and mounted my existing /data partition ( without formatting )

But you lost me on this.
How do I 'point' swap to my original swap :?:
I think I understand what your saying about the /data partition. I don't remember, when does the option to format show up?
Also looking at your screenshot there is no mount point for 7&8. Do I just leave that blank?
Ron
User avatar
smokeymtn_ron
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Southeast Asia

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby richyrich on Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:13 pm

Hang on Ron, I'll reboot to Xfce, and take a screenshot of GParted from the second distro then you can see the difference.

I'll just post it back to this same post . . stay tuned ! :D

Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (67.48 KiB) Viewed 400 times


Notice that sda2 is the only partition flagged as boot. ( My " / " partition from the first install - see first screenshot )

What I meant about the swap is during the manual partitioning of the second install, I clicked on the existing swap partition, and changed "Do Not Use This Partition" to 'Swap" in the drop down list, the same with my existing /data partition, changed "Do Not Use This Partition" to '/data".
The only partitions that had the "Format" checkbox checked, was the new partitions, / (sda7) and /home (sda8).

Richy
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Partitioning for fresh install

Postby smokeymtn_ron on Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:55 pm

Richy,
Thanks, that really explained it good!! One final question before I give it a try (well 2)
1. When you did that for your data partition, was that only so both installs can use the data? I have some extras like /usr /var partitions. I'm only going to use this install to play with and don't need to swap files or anything.
2. For the boot menu, how do I know which Mint is which? Won't they both have the same name?

Thanks again, :D
Ron
User avatar
smokeymtn_ron
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Southeast Asia

Re: Partitioning for fresh install - SOLVED

Postby richyrich on Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:02 pm

1) Yes, so if you don't need or want it just ignore.

2) Nope, if they are both Mint 7, the Kernel numbers will be the same, but it will say KDE, or Xfce, or whatever.

Good luck, and have fun ! Richy :D
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Partitioning for fresh install - SOLVED

Postby smokeymtn_ron on Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:08 pm

:D :D Got it! Here goes :roll:
User avatar
smokeymtn_ron
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Southeast Asia

Re: Partitioning for fresh install - SOLVED

Postby smokeymtn_ron on Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:58 pm

:D :D :D :D
Richy,
Just wanted to let you know it worked like a champ! But it is showing up as the same name, the only difference is 1 is showing (on /dev/sda//11) after the name. So I can still tell them apart. :D
Thanks,
Ron
User avatar
smokeymtn_ron
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Southeast Asia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cammo and 39 guests