need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby foroz on Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:51 am

Hi

I am looking to upgrade my pc, which is presently AMD 64 x2 dual core processor 4000+ with 2gm ram. As I am starting to use gimp a bit for photo editing I am thing of upgrading - looking for suggestions as to what might be a better configuration which might 'grow' with me. I'm running Gloria (Gnome)

Tks
Craig
foroz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:17 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby lagagnon on Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:34 am

You have that sort of machine and you need to upgrade? Sheeshhh, I have probably 1/4 of that speed and the Gimp works just fine for me. Of course, I don't really know what you are doing, but before you go out and spend money perhaps unnecessarily have you done any systems analysis while you are doing those "intensive" tasks?

For instance, open a terminal and type "top" and see how your RAM and CPU usage goes, also type "free" once in a while to see how much, if any swap space (virtual memory) you are using. If you never use your swap you don't need more than the 2GB of RAM you already have. If your CPU rarely stays at 100% usage then a faster CPU probably won't make your computing that much quicker to justify an upgrade. If you are not going to run more than 2 intensive processes at once why would you need more than a dual core processor?
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby Anaxis on Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:25 pm

Do you know what video card you're using? Will you be using any CAD software or anything like that?

GIMP is lightweight and not too intensive, especially for what you're currently running, but if you're going to be getting into any intense 3D designing software, you might want to get a decent graphics card.
"People should better think of their computing devices as facilities lended by the DHS." -Berke Durak, Linux wipe (secure file deletion) development.
Anaxis
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby rhY on Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:26 pm

I agree: Your machine pwnz mine! Unless you are running virtual machines or Dolphin, I can't imagine needing more hardware than what you have! Are you running Compiz? What kind of graphics card have you got? That CPU/memory should be fine for nearly any task except Dolphin or an intense VM.
[url]roguerebelmusic.com[/url]
User avatar
rhY
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:13 am
Location: In the Woods

Re: need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby foroz on Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:18 pm

Hi All

Tks for the your replies - I'm not a techie person, its difficult to find reliable information of what to expect for the configuration

Yes I'm running Compiz.

Present top redign - Swap: 10226604k total, 36320k used, 10190284k free, 896936k cached (applications open are firefox; thunderbird; and Rhythmbox)

Craig
foroz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:17 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby DrHu on Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:56 am

foroz wrote:Tks for the your replies - I'm not a techie person, its difficult to find reliable information of what to expect for the configuration
..its difficult to find reliable information of what to expect for the configuration
OK then, here goes..

The machine is OK for Gimp, especially if it was the only application you were running while working with the graphics files..

However, if you want a machine/computer power to grow on..
--then
  • Look for a mainboard that supports more RAM, and they can get pretty high these days
    --say up to ?
  • Change your graphics card for the fastest you can buy
    ---again with a fair amount of onboard RAM (VRAM), such as ?
http://xplanescenery.blogspot.com/2006/ ... -vram.html
    If I haven't already lost everyone, you could say:
      max framerate = bus bandwidth / (working set - VRAM )
      So faster bus = faster framerate, and more VRAM = faster framerate. (Math sticklers might ask - if VRAM = working set, is framerate infinite? No...but this equation tells us that if the entire working set fits in VRAM and thus you are not limited by the card fetching data. Other limits on the card will limit your framerate. But this doesn't happen so often as X-Plane's working set on a high-end card with nice settings can be hundreds of MB.)
A specific application (xplane), but it tells the story..
    So...on the old cards if you ran out of VRAM, the sim's framerate really tanked - it could fall down to 2 or 3 fps. But modern machines have much faster graphics busses, so as you run out of VRAM, the framerate get slower but is not totally unusable, becaues the graphics bus can keep up.)
Finally you likely would want to use the 64bit version of the OS to make use of as much RAM (memory) as you can possibly use ..
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Mot ... #anchor_os
--example of a large capacity ($$$) mainboard for Intel processor..
max memory 24GB
Last edited by DrHu on Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:17 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6283
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: need suggestion upgrade to better computer configuration

Postby vrkalak on Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:08 am

I don't use Gimp or Compiz on my PC.

But, I do use AutoCAD for Linux.

Either Gimp (lots of art, fractals, vectors) and program files like AutoCAD ... do use a lot of memory.
I would suggest upgrading your computers RAM to 4-6 Gb. RAM/Memory is relatively inexpensive and easy to install.
A graphics card, would be nice but not necessary, unless you are making, editing and running videos ... or playing major war-games.

Otherwise, your computer looks good, IMHO
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 40 guests