[SOLVED] Add templates to "create document"

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Add templates to "create document"

Postby andreaz on Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:48 am

Hi everyone.

Have used Ubuntu since 8.04, and now installed Mint instead. I just wonder how I add document templates to the Right-click menu "Create document"?
Have tried as I made it work in Ubuntu, but it doesn't work. Any tips?
Last edited by andreaz on Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andreaz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:45 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Add templates to "create document"

Postby altair4 on Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:02 am

(1) You need to create a "Templates" directory in your home folder. Why it's not there by defalt, I do not know.
Open Terminal
Type mkdir /home/andreaz/Templates
Change andreaz to whatever your real username is.

(2) Stick any blank document, spreadsheet, whatever you want in there.

For example:
Bring up gedit
Then just do a save to /home/andreaz/Templates/gedit.txt

Now Right Click the desktop > Create Document > and "gedit" will be listed.

There is a design bug in all this however ( well, I consider it a design bug ), it creates a blank saved document to the desktop - it doesn't open gedit to a blank document. If you use the example above you'll see what I mean.

EDIT: Welcome to the forums
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Add templates to "create document"

Postby andreaz on Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:25 pm

Thank you, got them added now :)

Only problem was that not all templates showed up. But a few "copy- paste" later it works. THANK YOU! :)

Thanks for the welcoming :)
andreaz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:45 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], hrishikesh and 21 guests