Gnome Do

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Gnome Do

Postby MissKitty on Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:23 pm

I'm no newbie to Linux but I am a newbie to Mint. I use to have Ubuntu but I switched to Mint. When I had Ubuntu I had Gnome Do and used it as a dock. Well as I can see Mint comes with Gnome Do but I can't seem to use it as a dock. I looked and I think I have everything installed for it. Maybe I'm missing something that makes it a dock. Am I missing something?
MissKitty
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Gnome Do

Postby pluraldave on Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:56 pm

Right click the gnome-do icon in the notification area, click preferences.

Switch to the Appearance tab, switch "theme" to docky.
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5

Postby MissKitty on Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:42 am

pluraldave wrote:Right click the gnome-do icon in the notification area, click preferences.

Switch to the Appearance tab, switch "theme" to docky.

I did that, the some way I did when I had Ubuntu. But guess what? There is no "preferences" to click on. It's like there is something missing, like I said before.
MissKitty
Level 1
Level 1

Postby pluraldave on Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:02 pm

Odd. What version of do have you got? 0.8 is the one with docky but I thought 0.6 still had preferences.

Fire up synaptic to check you've got gnome-do and gnome-do plugins 0.8. They should both be in the Ubuntu universe repositories if you're using LM7. (In synaptic settings>repositories to check universe is active).