No Sound on my Toshiba Satellite A-205

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

No Sound on my Toshiba Satellite A-205

Postby wolfizzi on Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:49 pm

I just got this new laptop and installed Cassandra. Unfortunately, no sound comes out. I have looked in Mint forums and Ubuntu, as well as Googling the problem. I have a Realtek HD Audio card, and from what I can tell, I need to install the Realtek HD driver. I have downloaded the .tar/bz2 file, but, as I am fairly new to linux, I am unsure how to proceed. Could someone give me some detailed instructions on what I need to do now.

I appreciate terse instructions, but I would really like to learn why things are done the way they are, so any comments about why things need to be done will help.
wolfizzi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

No sound Toshiba Satellite

Postby gvm12 on Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:07 pm

Hi wolfizzi, I got the same problem so let's make a deal; whoever who finds a solution lets the other one know about it ok? Good luck.
gvm12
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:26 pm

Postby wolfizzi on Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:21 pm

gvm12,

It's a deal. I untarred the file that I downloaded from Realtek, and read the "readme" file. Then I doublecliked on "install". This didn't fix the problem. I'm afraid to attempt the manual method without some guidance, but I might try it anyway.

BTW I remember reading somewhere that someone fixed a similar problem by adding something to the /etc/modules file, but now I don't remember where I saw that, or what to add.

Help.
wolfizzi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:28 pm

Postby wolfizzi on Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:24 pm

Here's what happened since yesterday. I tried to manually install the Realtek files, and got an error message saying gcc can't compile executable files. Then I downloaded Alsa drivers, utils, libs, and tried to install them using their instructions, and got the same error message.

The Realtek driver appears to be the same as the Intel HDA driver which is now included in OSS.

Today I went on the OSS site and downloaded the latest (4.0) drivers in a .deb package. Install seemed to go o.k., but when I tested using osstest I got a message that my audio hardware was not recognized by oss. :evil:

Here is the output of lsmod:
Module Size Used by
arc4 2944 2
ecb 4480 2
blkcipher 6784 1 ecb
ieee80211_crypt_wep 6144 1
af_packet 23816 4
binfmt_misc 12680 1
rfcomm 40856 0
l2cap 25856 5 rfcomm
bluetooth 55908 4 rfcomm,l2cap
ppdev 10116 0
i915 24448 3
drm 81044 4 i915
acpi_cpufreq 10056 1
cpufreq_ondemand 9228 1
cpufreq_stats 7360 0
cpufreq_powersave 2688 0
cpufreq_userspace 5408 0
freq_table 5792 3 acpi_cpufreq,cpufreq_ondemand,cpufreq_stats
cpufreq_conservative 8200 0
dev_acpi 12292 0
sony_acpi 6284 0
tc1100_wmi 8068 0
pcc_acpi 13184 0
dock 10268 0
button 8720 0
battery 10756 0
sbs 15652 0
container 5248 0
i2c_ec 6016 1 sbs
i2c_core 22656 1 i2c_ec
video 16388 0
asus_acpi 17308 0
backlight 7040 1 asus_acpi
ac 6020 0
nls_utf8 3072 2
ntfs 107764 2
sbp2 23812 0
parport_pc 36388 0
lp 12452 0
parport 36936 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
fuse 46612 3
snd_hda_intel 21912 1
snd_hda_codec 205056 1 snd_hda_intel
joydev 10816 0
snd_pcm_oss 44544 0
snd_mixer_oss 17408 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 79876 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 4740 0
snd_seq_oss 32896 0
snd_seq_midi 9600 0
snd_rawmidi 25472 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 8448 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 52592 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer 23684 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 9100 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
ipw3945 118816 1
uvcvideo 42500 0
pcmcia 39212 0
snd 54020 12 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
videodev 28160 1 uvcvideo
v4l1_compat 15236 2 uvcvideo,videodev
v4l2_common 25216 2 uvcvideo,videodev
iTCO_wdt 11812 0
sdhci 18700 0
iTCO_vendor_support 4868 1 iTCO_wdt
soundcore 8672 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 10888 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
sky2 43528 0
mmc_core 26756 1 sdhci
ieee80211 34760 1 ipw3945
ieee80211_crypt 7040 2 ieee80211_crypt_wep,ieee80211
tifm_7xx1 8704 0
tifm_core 11140 1 tifm_7xx1
psmouse 38920 0
yenta_socket 27532 1
rsrc_nonstatic 14080 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 40852 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
shpchp 34324 0
pci_hotplug 32576 1 shpchp
serio_raw 7940 0
intel_agp 25244 1
agpgart 35400 3 drm,intel_agp
tsdev 8768 0
evdev 11008 4
ext3 133128 1
jbd 59816 1 ext3
mbcache 9604 1 ext3
sg 36252 0
sr_mod 17060 0
cdrom 37664 1 sr_mod
sd_mod 23428 5
generic 5124 0 [permanent]
ata_piix 15492 4
ohci1394 36528 0
ieee1394 299448 2 sbp2,ohci1394
ehci_hcd 34188 0
ata_generic 9092 0
libata 125720 2 ata_piix,ata_generic
scsi_mod 142348 5 sbp2,sg,sr_mod,sd_mod,libata
uhci_hcd 25360 0
usbcore 134280 4 uvcvideo,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
thermal 14856 0
processor 31048 2 acpi_cpufreq,thermal
fan 5636 0
fbcon 42656 0
tileblit 3584 1 fbcon
font 9216 1 fbcon
bitblit 6912 1 fbcon
softcursor 3200 1 bitblit
vesafb 9220 0
capability 5896 0
commoncap 8192 1 capability

Here is the contents of /proc/asound/cards:

0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf0b40000 irq 21

And, here is the contents of /proc/asound/oss/sndstat:

Sound Driver:3.8.1a-980706 (ALSA v1.0.14rc1 emulation code)
Kernel: Linux larth-laptop 2.6.20-16-generic #2 SMP Thu Jun 7 20:19:32 UTC 2007 i686
Config options: 0

Installed drivers:
Type 10: ALSA emulation

Card config:
HDA Intel at 0xf0b40000 irq 21

Audio devices:
0: HDA Generic (DUPLEX)

Synth devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Midi devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Timers:
31: system timer

Mixers:
0: Realtek ID 268

This looks to me like the OSS 4.0 drivers were never installed. At this point, I'm about exhausted with the whole process. I have seen many posts to many of the different linux forums, but nobody appears to have received any satisfactory answers. GVM12, if you're out there, have you had any luck?
wolfizzi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:28 pm

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:55 pm

Good that you try to help each other!
untarred the file that I downloaded from Realtek, and read the "readme" file. Then I doubleclicked on "install".

ohoh - this a part of the Linux downside.
If it was a tarball it was not a .deb file and not directly possible to install in a debian based distro as Mint. You could install it with alien, look here:
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... eb_package
The post with /etc/modules had to do with an old ISA card. There is also a kernel issue here - 2.20-16 gives problems with sound too I think....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

no sound on my toshiba satellete A-205

Postby gvm12 on Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:40 pm

Hi man, check the post I did under the tittle No sound toshiba satellite and check what unreall223 suggested me, it worked for me and I hope it does for you too. Good luck
gvm12
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:26 pm

Still no sound

Postby wolfizzi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:04 pm

Thirteen days since my first post on this matter. I have read dozens of other people's posts, here, on Ubuntu, and on Debian sites. At one point, I installed Debian Etch, but couldn't make sound work on it either. I reinstalled Cassandra and got wifi to work (another problem), but still no sound.

To restate the problem, I have Intel ICH7 82801G High Def Audio with Realtek 268 codec. No sound at all.

This is what I have tried:

I have edited /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base, adding options snd-hda-intel model=3stack. Then I tried model=auto. Then model=6stack-digout.

I reconfigured alsa. Then upgraded alsa, Then upgraded kernel. Then retried all the modprobe.d edits.

I read somewhere on the Debian site about a similar problem. The output of aplay -l showed both HDA Generic and SI3054 Modem. I have the same output. The solution was to include something else in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base that caused the Modem portion in the aplay -l output to go away. When I tried it, my computer no longer recognized the soundcard at all.

I do think fixing the modem thing could work. The reason I think this is when I open volume control (or alsamixer) I have controls for Master, PCM, Caller ID, and Off Hook. The Caller ID and Off Hook makes me think alsa is seeing modem /telephone settings instead of regular sound settings. There are no settings for base, treble, etc. I have a lan card and wifi, so I don't think I need a modem, or do I? :roll:

Here is my complete output of aplay -l:

larth@kienzle-laptop:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: HDA Generic [HDA Generic]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Please, someone, take another look at this and help me.
wolfizzi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:28 pm

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:40 am

I would say you don't need a modem. Removing the modem has solved many sound issiues, so if you could do that it would probably be helpful.
I think there may be a hatch to open and the you could even physically remove the modem.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

no sound on my toshiba satellete A-205

Postby gvm12 on Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:20 pm

Did you try what I told you to check my post? I had the same problem and someone gave me the solution, it's right there... look for the topic No sound Toshiba Satellite I'm gvm12
gvm12
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:26 pm

Postby wolfizzi on Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:15 am

gvm12,

I did try your suggestions. After further research I have discovered that Alsa hasn't incorporated the codecs for realtek 268 yet. The Realtek site just sends you to alsa if you want linux drivers. Oh, well. Alsa people are supposed to be trying to include support for 268 in an upcoming release. Maybe soon I'll get sound on this laptop.
wolfizzi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anticapitalista, pedrobeja and 34 guests