Applications Menu Problem with Anjuta

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Applications Menu Problem with Anjuta

Postby berbo on Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:25 pm

Hello

I have tried a lot of IDE. After test, I remove (uninstall) most of them except Anjuta. After that I had problems with Anjuta, so I have removed it and installed it just after that.

Problems with Anjuta were out but Anjuta is not the not in the main Menu (Applications>Programmation). If I run a search for Anjuta inside the DesktopSearch the software is finded and I can run it.

But I am not able to place it inside Menu.

Someone can help me?

Berbo
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:16 pm

It should find its way to the menu when it's installed
Open the menu the normal way
Select the menu editor oddly it's called Main Menu
Select the subsection where you want the new menu item
Click on New item
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby berbo on Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:41 pm

Husse wrote:It should find its way to the menu when it's installed
Open the menu the normal way
Select the menu editor oddly it's called Main Menu
Select the subsection where you want the new menu item
Click on New item


Hello

I had tried this but it does not work.

I try to enter the name of the software (Anjuta). Is it OK? Have I to enter the full path or something else? And if yes, where to find the full path?

Berbo
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Postby BlahBlah_X on Sat Jun 16, 2007 9:47 pm

Okay add a new app.

For name, type in Anjuta. For the command, click browse, and browse to /usr/bin/ and see if you find anything related to Anjuta.

If it still doesn't work, try typing sudo anjuta in the command box.
User avatar
BlahBlah_X
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Walrus Teeth

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:15 am

sudo anjuta

No good to run as root...
The "Add new" has autocomplete
anyway open a terminal and type

which anjuta

and you get the path to anjuta
Note you have to beware of minor and major letters
If it is Anjuta, you will not get any result for anjuta so check that out
When you have the path use it to add to the menu
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby berbo on Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:13 am

Husse wrote:
sudo anjuta

No good to run as root...
The "Add new" has autocomplete
anyway open a terminal and type

which anjuta

and you get the path to anjuta
Note you have to beware of minor and major letters
If it is Anjuta, you will not get any result for anjuta so check that out
When you have the path use it to add to the menu


Hello

The «which anjuta» does not work. Same thing for «Anjuta».

But if I type «anjuta» in the DesktopSearch find the software and I can run it.

I was also able to put it inside the «Tableau de bord» (I do not know the right word in English- may the DashBoard? - the bar at the bottom of the screen.

So, here the questions:
Why can I find and run the software with a search or with the Tableau de bord?
Why not via the command «which anjuta»?
Why can I not place it inside the MintMenu?

Berbo
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Postby Boo on Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:43 pm

have you tried using the menulist gui administration?
you just look in the different sections till you find anjunta and tick its box.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:43 am

You should - well must - find it with the command which. But I've just checked and found out that if the executable is in your home folder which does not find it.
So the path to use would be something like /home/your_username/anjuta/anjuta
and of course the spelling....
use that and it should work. Normally programs don't end up in home - but some do...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Boo on Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:57 am

in your .profile file at the bottom add this line to include where anjuta is.

PATH=~/anjuta:"${PATH}"

then run the command

source .profile

now if you type anjuta it will just run.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby berbo on Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:00 pm

Husse wrote:You should - well must - find it with the command which. But I've just checked and found out that if the executable is in your home folder which does not find it.
So the path to use would be something like /home/your_username/anjuta/anjuta
and of course the spelling....
use that and it should work. Normally programs don't end up in home - but some do...


I do not have a /home/myname/anjuta directory. But I have a /home/myname/.anjuta (a dot before anjuta). Inside it, we have 3 files: session.properties, tools.xml and user.properties, but no EXE file.

I found anjuta exe file in /usr/bin (and I can launch the software)

So, what's not normal? Why is it impossible to have anjuta inside Mintmenu?
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Postby Boo on Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:51 pm

did you try config center --> desktop--> menulist?

if it was not listed in one of the sections then I suspect the package/app was not created properly.

you could still create a launcher on the desktop.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby berbo on Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:34 pm

Boo wrote:... I suspect the package/app was not created properly.
:D


Is there a way to know if a package was not created properly?
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Postby Boo on Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:20 pm

alright i have looked at anjuta website.

I see there a few dependencies and addons to anjuta and working with gnome/gtk.

ajunta is a tar ball to download and install so I expect that it is not completely integrated with the gnome desktop. download and compile to install it.

If it downloaded as a .deb file I would expect it to integrate into gnome and its menus.

so i think you are out of luck with the menu, unless there is a manual way to add it.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby berbo on Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:35 pm

Boo wrote:alright i have looked at anjuta website.
...
so i think you are out of luck with the menu, unless there is a manual way to add it.

:D


Hello

My installation of Anjuta was coming from Linux Mint (install software) and not from a personnal install. So, if I a am out of luck that's the proof that is something wrong with Linux Mint. No?

Somebody knows is what we have to do to add a software manually to the Linux Menu?

Berbo
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Postby frank392 on Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:29 pm

Hi
just restart your system and it will appear automatically under the Programing menu.
frank392
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:29 pm

Postby berbo on Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:45 am

frank392 wrote:Hi
just restart your system and it will appear automatically under the Programing menu.


Hello

No, it do not appear after restarting system
berbo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 23 guests