does linuxmint synaptic have limitations?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

does linuxmint synaptic have limitations?

Postby mgh on Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:16 pm

Hi All,

I am a newbie, have used Ubuntu a little, and recently installed LInuxMint. I like LinuxMint, but having a problem with synaptic.

I need to add a repository so I can install 3rd party software. I copy the URL from the software homepage, open synaptic, go to settings, repositories, and paste the URL. I reload, but the new repository does not show up, nor is the software available when I search for it.

LM comes with an old version of this software (slimserver), which will not function properly. I can find this old version, and install it, but that does not do me any good. I can't figure out why the new repository will not be updated and why I can not then install the new software.

Ubuntu synaptic handles sources a bit differently, but the installation went perfectly.

Any ideas what may be going on?

Thanks for all help.
mgh
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: does linuxmint synaptic have limitations?

Postby antiquexray on Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:35 pm

mgh wrote:Hi All,

I am a newbie, have used Ubuntu a little, and recently installed LInuxMint. I like LinuxMint, but having a problem with synaptic.

I need to add a repository so I can install 3rd party software. I copy the URL from the software homepage, open synaptic, go to settings, repositories, and paste the URL. I reload, but the new repository does not show up, nor is the software available when I search for it.

LM comes with an old version of this software (slimserver), which will not function properly. I can find this old version, and install it, but that does not do me any good. I can't figure out why the new repository will not be updated and why I can not then install the new software.

Ubuntu synaptic handles sources a bit differently, but the installation went perfectly.

Any ideas what may be going on?

Thanks for all help.


What are you trying to download?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Postby speaker219 on Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:31 pm

use
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

then add the repository url you want to the end
it will look something like
deb http://coolproject.com/debpakgz
speaker219
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:54 pm

Postby mgh on Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:10 pm

Thank you very much!

Adding the URL to the repositories list with gedit worked perfectly.

I will keep this thread around to help me remember.

Any idea why I could not get it added using synaptic?

Thanks a lot. I am enjoying LinuxMint.
mgh
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:51 pm

Postby scorp123 on Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:25 am

mgh wrote: Any idea why I could not get it added using synaptic?
You did it wrong? :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby clem on Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:22 am

There's three kinds of repositories:

- Automatic repositories
- Trivial repositories
- Other kind of repositories (which we're not particularly interested in... but keep in mind there's always stuff not falling within categories :))

I don't really use Synaptic (too slow compared to the command line) but I remember having issues with editing repositories in it. I think it assumes all repositories are automatic. Maybe this got fixed.. I don't know. The thing is: Linux Mint repositories are Trivial Repositories and so the syntax for them is different. Maybe Synaptic is not used to that.

Automatic:
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository/ cassandra main

Trivial:
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository cassandra/

Again, this is a perfect example of the limitations of the GUI. Although it is simpler to learn how to use the graphical frontend, most graphical interfaces are less stable, less flexible, slower and offer less features than the command line tools they act as a frontend to.

PS: Of course, having said that.. Synaptic is an excellent piece of software.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5544
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby mgh on Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:37 pm

You did it wrong? Wink


Entirely possible, though it seems pretty straight-forward. :?

As far as the command line, I have been told it is a much better tool, just a lot for a newbie to learn.

I have found some free ebooks on Linux, but so far not a lot on the command line. I hope to be able to learn more as I use Linux.

This seems to be a more common problem with more newbies like me getting interested in Linux because of the GUI. The GUI make it easy for a new person, but so far my experience has been that I have not been able to get a Linux distro set up properly without the command line.

I am not complaining, just a lot to get used to and learn, and I have wondered if Linux is still in kind of a "gray" area between being fully usable with GUI, and the older versions that had to have command line to run at all.

Also kind of funny with my very limited experience, how different distros seem to do different things better. I actually like the Ubuntu DE better, but so far have found LinuxMint has had fewer issues for what I have needed. I'm not saying the LinuxMint DE is bad.

At any rate, I appreciate all the help and replies.

[/quote]
mgh
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:51 pm

Postby Sorensei on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:19 am

In fact, you can do almost everything with the GUI if you're stubborn enough.

Now, learning a few commands always helps, and with time you'll realize it's quite often simpler and faster than going and clicking on various buttons and boxes.

And, last but not least, if the case of a crash leaving you only with a terminal blinking back at you, you'll panic a lot less if you know (even a little) your way around... :wink:
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.
User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mgh on Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:19 pm

"And, last but not least, if the case of a crash leaving you only with a terminal blinking back at you, you'll panic a lot less if you know (even a little) your way around"

Yes, I found that out when I was unable to boot Ubuntu except in safe mode! Thankfully someone helped me through that one, but it was a perfect example of what you are writing about.

Thanks
mgh
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Mint2be, paperclip and 42 guests