Linux on Laptop and sleeping problem.[SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Linux on Laptop and sleeping problem.[SOLVED]

Postby recycleme85 on Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:21 am

First off i am new to Linux, and I have googled and serached the forums here to try and find an answer to my problem.
I have Linux Mint 7 single boot
HP DV6000 notebook
160 gig HD
Nivida Video
Athero Wireless
So on and so forth......

The issue I have is I would like for my computer to sleep when I close the lid. If I press the Fn~F5 button it goes into sleep, conserves battery life, and wakes up normal when I open the lid with no loss of where I was at before. Is there any why i can make this happen with just the close of the lid? Thanks in advanced for all input. If there is another posting related to this then by all means, point my in the direction.
Last edited by recycleme85 on Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
recycleme85
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Linux on Laptop and sleeping problem.

Postby David Hunter on Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:36 am

Hi recycleme85 - welcome to Linuxland! lol
To do what you want, click the menu, type in "power" and click on Power Management. This will give you all the options you may wish to change.

Hope that helps. :)
Thanks beyecixramd!

Husse wrote:Actually I've never broken a Linux I have managed to install - but there are a few I never managed to install :)
David Hunter
Level 3
Level 3

Postby dawgdoc on Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:26 pm