how do i instal a tar.gz?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

how do i instal a tar.gz?

Postby virtualandi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:40 pm

:oops: oh god, im such a newbie its unreal!!!
Ive noticed some programs id like to have that have a: ...tar.gz extension. The archive manager takes care of extracting etc,.. but then what do you do? Is there some terminal stuff to type in?
Sorry this is kindergarten stuff!!!! :oops:

im running cassandra.
virtualandi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Loli on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:44 pm

What are you trying to install? Are you sure its not in Synaptic?
Loli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:44 pm

Postby virtualandi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:46 pm

its vmware workstation 6, so i can use corel draw & adobe elements

thanx 4 ur reply.
virtualandi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

Postby Loli on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:53 pm

I would suggest you use Wine instead. Its faster and doesn't emulate an entire OS.

Corel
http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?appId=440

Elements
http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=5583
(not so sure...)

Emulating it would make your computer VERY slow, because these image editing programs take a lot of memory all by themselves...

Menu/Install Software/type Wine
Try it in Wine...
Loli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:44 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:08 pm

virtualandi wrote:its vmware workstation 6
Try virtualbox ... it performs waaaay better! And it's available via Synaptic .... Just point and click, "Apply", and voila, application installed.

*.tar.gz files are GNU zipped (gzip) "UNIX Tape Archives" (tar), a compression format very common on UNIX-like platforms. It's widely used and actually very easy to handle (excellent for backups!), e.g. it can be read on almost every OS (Linux, Windows, Mac OS, BeOS, OS/2, ... ) and on every platform (Intel, PowerPC, SPARC, HP PA-RISC ...). So if software gets delivered in a *.tar.gz file you obviously have to unpack it somewhere, then go into that place where things got unpacked (usually this would be a new sub-directory), and then launch the actual installer, usually some sort of script that will auto-guess the correct settings and just install what it needs to install. Such installer scripts are best launched in the terminal, e.g.
Code: Select all
cd /path/to/where/stuff/got/unpacked
./installer-script-name.sh
After the installer script has finished without spitting out an error it's usually safe to remove that sub-directory, it shouldn't be needed any longer.

In the case of VMware I am absolutely confident that there are detailed instructions on their web site and I think there should be a README file somewhere somehow, so I suggest you read those things :lol:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby virtualandi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:18 pm

thanx guys !
firstly, i get error '1628' (!) when i try it with wine, and secondly, virtualbox doesnt seem to be in my synaptic!

...and the search goes on!!!
virtualandi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:39 pm

virtualandi wrote: virtualbox doesnt seem to be in my synaptic!
http://www.getautomatix.com

I got mine from their repos. Add this into your /etc/apt/sources.list file (you have to edit that one as superuser "root", e.g. sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list .... )
Code: Select all
#AUTOMATIX REPOS START
deb http://www.getautomatix.com/apt feisty main
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu feisty-commercial main
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu feisty-updates main
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu feisty-security main restricted universe multiverse
#AUTOMATIX REPOS END
Then tell Synaptic to do a refresh (or type this into a terminal: sudo apt-get update ) and from there on it should be available.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, Bing [Bot], Hecubus, lestcape, lsemmens and 23 guests