how do i instal a tar.gz?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

how do i instal a tar.gz?

Postby virtualandi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:40 pm

:oops: oh god, im such a newbie its unreal!!!
Ive noticed some programs id like to have that have a: ...tar.gz extension. The archive manager takes care of extracting etc,.. but then what do you do? Is there some terminal stuff to type in?
Sorry this is kindergarten stuff!!!! :oops:

im running cassandra.
virtualandi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Loli on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:44 pm

What are you trying to install? Are you sure its not in Synaptic?
Loli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:44 pm

Postby virtualandi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:46 pm

its vmware workstation 6, so i can use corel draw & adobe elements

thanx 4 ur reply.
virtualandi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

Postby Loli on Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:53 pm

I would suggest you use Wine instead. Its faster and doesn't emulate an entire OS.

Corel
http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?appId=440

Elements
http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=5583
(not so sure...)

Emulating it would make your computer VERY slow, because these image editing programs take a lot of memory all by themselves...

Menu/Install Software/type Wine
Try it in Wine...
Loli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:44 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:08 pm

virtualandi wrote:its vmware workstation 6
Try virtualbox ... it performs waaaay better! And it's available via Synaptic .... Just point and click, "Apply", and voila, application installed.

*.tar.gz files are GNU zipped (gzip) "UNIX Tape Archives" (tar), a compression format very common on UNIX-like platforms. It's widely used and actually very easy to handle (excellent for backups!), e.g. it can be read on almost every OS (Linux, Windows, Mac OS, BeOS, OS/2, ... ) and on every platform (Intel, PowerPC, SPARC, HP PA-RISC ...). So if software gets delivered in a *.tar.gz file you obviously have to unpack it somewhere, then go into that place where things got unpacked (usually this would be a new sub-directory), and then launch the actual installer, usually some sort of script that will auto-guess the correct settings and just install what it needs to install. Such installer scripts are best launched in the terminal, e.g.
Code: Select all
cd /path/to/where/stuff/got/unpacked
./installer-script-name.sh
After the installer script has finished without spitting out an error it's usually safe to remove that sub-directory, it shouldn't be needed any longer.

In the case of VMware I am absolutely confident that there are detailed instructions on their web site and I think there should be a README file somewhere somehow, so I suggest you read those things :lol:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby virtualandi on Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:18 pm

thanx guys !
firstly, i get error '1628' (!) when i try it with wine, and secondly, virtualbox doesnt seem to be in my synaptic!

...and the search goes on!!!
virtualandi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:39 pm

virtualandi wrote: virtualbox doesnt seem to be in my synaptic!
http://www.getautomatix.com

I got mine from their repos. Add this into your /etc/apt/sources.list file (you have to edit that one as superuser "root", e.g. sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list .... )
Code: Select all
#AUTOMATIX REPOS START
deb http://www.getautomatix.com/apt feisty main
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu feisty-commercial main
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu feisty-updates main
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu feisty-security main restricted universe multiverse
#AUTOMATIX REPOS END
Then tell Synaptic to do a refresh (or type this into a terminal: sudo apt-get update ) and from there on it should be available.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cecilieaux, Hank2, nomko, WharfRat and 45 guests