Trying this out

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Trying this out

Postby username on Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:40 am

As a new user of LM7 gloria, KDE4, I have a few simple (I hope) questions that if answered, would go a long ways towards furthering my enjoyment of using it. The first, but not the most important to me, is how do I make my multiple desktops appear on the panel? I noticed the other day that while the desktop was loading, 2desktop squares (the number I specified) really quickly disappeared beneath the volume, Klipper, wired network, padlock, box. I tried to move that box to gain access to them, but wasn't able to do it. So they are hidden. How do I get them to show in the panel?

Secondly, when I try to set a screensaver all I get is a black screen. My settings won't stick. My graphics info is: RV280 [Radeon 9250 PRO] ATI 128MB, with 1280X1024 res. I unticked the power savings as I don't have a laptop, and did forum searches, but couldn't find relevent advice. How do I get screensavers to kick in? I'm thinking this may be a kde4 bug, as the same thing happened on another distro.

Thirdly, It'd be nice if right-clicking would have more options like Move To dialog, or Save as Wallpaper, etc. like KDE 3.5X did.

Lastly, I wonder if there's a way to expand upon GUI features for system settings like backups, setting default applications. Are there add-on system utilities in the repository for Linux Mint/kde4?

This isn't intended to be criticism. I hope I don't offend LM aficianados or those more experienced & savy. I've downloaded & read the user guide and I'm enjoying using this so far. Thanks
username
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:32 pm
Location: Washington State

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Trying this out

Postby richyrich on Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:47 am

This isn't intended to be criticism


Image . . no comment!

EDIT : Gosh, I wish people would use Google . . . (firstly, secondly and thirdly) http://www.kde.org/ . . (lastly) Synaptic Package Manager.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Trying this out

Postby username on Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:46 am

Richyrich: Thank you for the link. I read here somewhere that it wasn't recommended to use synaptic with linux mint, so i haven't tried that. You're free believe what you want, but it really wasn't a complaint about LM.
username
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:32 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Trying this out

Postby exploder on Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:53 am

username, I did not view your post as complaining at all.

Edit: You can use Synaptic if you like, I do. You just have to be a lot more careful about what you update. Kernel updates come to mind because so many people break their system from kernel upgrades they do not really need. It all has to do with the old saying, "If it ain't broke don't fix it." I have used level 4 and 5 updates to fix things that just were not getting fixed from the default repos. I know the consequences of making a mistake and understand the steps needed to undo any damage I might have caused too. :)
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5873
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Trying this out

Postby username on Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:40 pm

exploder: thanks for the reply. I think I'll try synaptic as that's what I've used in the past to see what's avaliable. I appreciate your cautionary note as I too am painfully aware of the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" adage. I wish I hadn't upgraded to kde4 on my other distribution as it really borked things. Having the Latest & Greatest can sometimes be a mistake, especially if you don't have a recent backup. :(
username
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:32 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Trying this out

Postby exploder on Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:46 pm

username, glad I could be of help. We all bork our systems from time to time. Experience is the best teacher! :)
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5873
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Trying this out

Postby DrHu on Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:56 am

I like the opposite adage
http://www.nytimes.com/2001/02/06/nyreg ... te-it.html

Investigate it
--whether it is broke or not; and how would we know except in a limited way
For if we only accept what is delivered, we never learn anything
http://lawrencehallofscience.org/foss/n ... Broke.html
http://dafixer.blogspot.com/
    If it ain't broke, fix it anyway!

This is the old style school of preventative maintenance, quite often used by managers to seem more competent or business-like than they are
    Due to various system problems and outages, I have initiated a system freeze for the next 3 months
    --no changes are allowed unless they have been authorized.
--and the authorizations if any will be by committee (hang together)
Of course you know, nothing will be authorized, the systems will stabilize and others will view those results as beneficial
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6798
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], vvvvvv and 20 guests