Linux mint Freeze, please help!

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ayoubson

Linux mint Freeze, please help!

Post by ayoubson »

Ubuntu Freeze, please help!!
Hi everyone,
I'm fairly new to Linux, and enjoying the discovery process!! But one thing that has really caused a lot of problems for me, despite using multiple versions of Linux mit/ubuntu (including the new Ubuntu 9.10 (64bit) which I installed resulting in the same problem). My favorite is Linuc mint by far and I want to make it my only OS, but this problem prevented this.

The problem:
The hardware: Computer: HP desktop: 64 bit, AMD Phantom x3, RAM 4G (see below)
Printer: Brother DCP 7020
Webcam: Microsoft Lifecam VX-1000

I have a new HP desktop which I bought a few months back, its a 64 bit AMD Phantom x3, with Nvidea graphics card (non dedicated), and 4 gigs of Ram.

It works perfectly with Windows, and almost perfectly in Linux/Ubuntu except that every time I plug in my Brother printer via USB or my webcam the computer will either freeze all together or either the keyboard or the mouse will stop working, or the system will freeze and continuous string of letters will be typed across the screen when I try to type something.
After the freeze, the only way to make the computer work is to reboot or switch the power off manually. Its a persistent and annoying issue. Just to clarify either the printer ALONE or the webcam ALONE or both together can cause the freeze.