kde is super slow

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

kde is super slow

Postby ravengirl1960 on Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:58 pm

That's it, basically. Gnome takes about 90 seconds to load the entire desktop. KDE takes about
8 minutes to load and anytime I want to click on anything on the desktop or panel, it takes
about 5 minutes to respond.

The odd thing is that KDE was originally working great on here after I did the intial install.
One day, I turned the computer on and it just wouldn't do anything without the time wait.

P.S. I uninstalled KDE thru Synaptic and then reinstalled it. No change.
Linux Mint 7/Linux Mint 8 RC
Phenom II Quad Core 3.0
ATI Radeon 3300
ravengirl1960
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: kde is super slow

Postby lagagnon on Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:40 pm

Please post the output of the following commands, run from a terminal, to this thread, while you are in KDE:

free
df -h
dmesg
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: kde is super slow

Postby ravengirl1960 on Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:41 am

That's the problem; I can't access the terminal in KDE. I have a laptop (Win7) so I ran KDE while I did homework on the laptop.
When the desktop finally booted altogether, I clicked on the terminal icon. After about 4 minutes, it lit up (the icon) like
it was going to work, then the puter froze up.
Linux Mint 7/Linux Mint 8 RC
Phenom II Quad Core 3.0
ATI Radeon 3300
ravengirl1960
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:05 pm

Re: kde is super slow

Postby DrHu on Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:22 am

ravengirl1960 wrote:P.S. I uninstalled KDE thru Synaptic and then reinstalled it. No change.
http://www.linuxmint.com/download_ce.php
That kinda suggests you are using the kde desktop on a Gnome system, instead of the Kde CE version of the Mint 7 distribution..
Is that the case?
--if so, and apart from any Kde bugs/issues, you would also be inviting Gnome/Kde interaction issues/conflicts into the mix..

Also that Kde 4x might be more resource intensive than Gnome 2x or possibly Vista (Win7), especially in the eye candy department, too many graphic effects
    It might help to know the hardware that the OS is using; and the RAM available to it, as well as the disk space; like other posters have been asking about (free, and df commands)
      I would be using
      inxi -F
      --short list of all hardware detected by the OS
      inxi -G
      --graphics only
      (in konsole/terminal), as the first choice, to get a better overview of the hardware situation
    Additionally, which video driver is being used, and which chip/chipset (on the notebook), internal/integrated; if so how much memory is assigned to the graphics display (taking it away from the available total RAM for the whole system..
    ravengirl1960 wrote:When the desktop finally booted altogether, I clicked on the terminal icon. After about 4 minutes, it lit up (the icon) like it was going to work, then the puter froze up.

    Try one of the Kde shortcuts
    http://superuser.com/questions/6791/key ... in-kde-4-x
    http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/tip/2289.html
      the originals, Kde 3x, Gnome shortcuts..
    Some keyboard shortcut issues..
    http://michael-jansen.biz/blog/admin/20 ... t-conflict
    http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/16345
      I highly recommend this, that is if you want to really attract people to switch over from Windows. This would make the transition more worthwhile and easier.
      All of the common Windows shortcut keys do not work
I don't think anyone should be concerned about this (defect ??), but some apparently are.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7093
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: kde is super slow

Postby ravengirl1960 on Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:54 am

I'm guessing it's a combo of using gnome and kde. But then, wouldn't gnome be as slow, as well?

Also, I split off a partition and installed RC8 and kde and it works great (I'm posting from it now). So
as a practical measure, I'll make sure it's not gonna bork, then transfer the data and wipe the Mint 7.

And finally, I think what I'll do is put my system in my signature. That'll make it easier.
Linux Mint 7/Linux Mint 8 RC
Phenom II Quad Core 3.0
ATI Radeon 3300
ravengirl1960
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:05 pm

Re: kde is super slow

Postby DrHu on Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:35 am

ravengirl1960 wrote:But then, wouldn't gnome be as slow, as well?

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=447264
It's hard to say
    Er, No I don't think so, since it will be closer to the OS base operation, and in that it gets preference
    -- and would actually be more in control of how kde was loaded than kde was (since kde would be the addon/extension window manager + libraries needed for the kde desktop operations)
--and maybe it still used Nautilus or GDM to manage the desktop and login/boot screens

ravengirl1960 wrote:And finally, I think what I'll do is put my system in my signature. That'll make it easier.

I'll try and remember that, however it might not help me, as I only read description/content for data, not signatures
    I assume the contents (description) is the problem being described,and do not go looking for any other clues
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7093
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nsivin and 33 guests