(solved) LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

(solved) LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby globetrotterdk on Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:28 pm

I am experiencing problems with the NVIDIA X server settings. The desktop only covers the entire screen of my Samsung SyncMaster 930BF monitor, when I set the NVIDIA settings on 75 Hz. The monitor is detected properly at the correct resolution (1280 x 1024). I get the following error when I try to save the configuration:
Code: Select all
Unable to create new X config backup file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup'.

I have tried backing up the file manually, but I still get the same message. As it is now, I have to reset the settings at every boot, which is obviously very annoying.
Last edited by globetrotterdk on Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Acer Aspire One 725.
Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
globetrotterdk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby rob2uk on Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:28 pm

I had the same problem.

For some reason the Nvidia settings app runs as a standard user, hence it not being able to change system files.

To fix it I had to edit the menu entry and add gksu before the command.

I have no idea if this is the right way to do it, but it worked for me!
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby richyrich on Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:40 pm

You may NOT want to change the auto settings for your laptop, . . but here's a how-to to save your settings . . . :)

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=34256&start=0#p197689

ps: I've got Mint 7 Xfce on my A31p, fast, light, eye candy too, just love it ! :D
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby globetrotterdk on Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:44 am

So simple and yet so effective :) It seems so logical what the problem is now :) I installed LM 7 XFCE on my daughter's old IBM desktop. I am moving everything from my Apple G5 (PPC). A shame really, support is ending for the PPC platform. The G5 is a better machine, but Apple never got Leopard working properly on the G5s. They took a real performance hit. My daughter's old IBM is almost as fast as my G5, with half the RAM and only 32 bit. Maybe I'll reinstall Tiger on the G5, but what is the point?

Anyway, thanks for the prompt reply :D
Acer Aspire One 725.
Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
globetrotterdk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: LM 7 on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA. Not solved yet.

Postby globetrotterdk on Fri Nov 20, 2009 4:32 am

OK, I installed LM 7 with GNOME and followed the same instructions for the NVIDIA issue. Unfortunately, the title bar section of windows has disappeared and terminal windows appear all white. I am posting my xorg.conf file in the hope that there is someone who can help me solve this.

Code: Select all
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "DontZap" "False"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Samsung"
    ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Configured Video Device"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "Configured Video Device"
    Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "1280x1024_75 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Acer Aspire One 725.
Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
globetrotterdk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby richyrich on Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:08 am

Hi,
It now sounds like it's your window manager that's acting up . . . try the different Compositing settings, even OFF.
Menu -> Control Center -> Appearance -> Visual Effects tab.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby globetrotterdk on Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:18 am

Cheers. That was it. Weird that I can't have visual effects.
Acer Aspire One 725.
Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
globetrotterdk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby richyrich on Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:34 am

Yea, the mx 440 is getting a little long in the tooth . . :( left out in the cold with just legacy Nvidia drivers. :cry:
You may want to go back into your Nvidia settings, and play around with the OpenGL quality settings, as the performance setting (move bar to the right) might work better for you?
Another thing members have done is install the Emerald Theme Manager, and used this for Window Manager when they activated Compiz. (re; your missing title bars & borders)
Note; installing the compiz-icon, then adding it to your panel, makes it easy to change/configure your desktop.

I was lucky, and found a sweet replacement for mine, an Nvidia Quadro 1000 AGP on eBay for $25 :)

regards, richy
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby globetrotterdk on Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:32 am

What do you do when you upgrade from one NVIDIA card to another? Do you need to uninstall the driver first? I just got a Geforce 6200.
Acer Aspire One 725.
Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
globetrotterdk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby richyrich on Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 am

Yes, recommended.
You can easily de-activate by going to the Hardware Drivers application, click on your installed Nvidia version, and then click the Remove button.
It should auto-detect again when you boot with the new card installed, or just use the Hardware Drivers app again . . .

good find, richy :)
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

(solved) Re: LM 7 XFCE on IBM A50p w/NVIDIA

Postby globetrotterdk on Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:52 am

Cheers.
Acer Aspire One 725.
Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
globetrotterdk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bad Boy Bubby, tadpole1954 and 24 guests