can't type my password in the tirmenal

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

can't type my password in the tirmenal

Postby jake_50 on Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:19 pm

hi all when i want to make an order to the tirmenal it asks me for the password and when i tryed to type it it dosn't type?????/
jake_50
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:13 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: can't type my password in the tirmenal

Postby metroid_maniac on Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:22 pm

it does type, you just don't see it. For example type
Code: Select all
firefox

Then try to "search for updates" in the "help" menu. It won't work.
Then type
Code: Select all
sudo firefox

type your password, press enter and repeat. It should search for updates.
metroid_maniac
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:56 am

Re: can't type my password in the tirmenal

Postby markcynt on Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:43 pm

ikey wrote:Huh? What has this got to do with him not being able to type his password?


He was just giving an easy example for the OP to try to show him that his password is indeed being entered.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: can't type my password in the tirmenal

Postby metroid_maniac on Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:30 pm

Sorry, I am quite a n00b.
metroid_maniac
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:56 am

Re: can't type my password in the tirmenal

Postby atlef on Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:13 am

The terminal does not show the password when you type, so just type it in and press enter and you should be fine.

atlef.
User avatar
atlef
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:20 am
Location: Stavanger NORWAY


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BobLuck, Hecubus, jsplicer, slipstick, tdockery97, yatesco and 35 guests