Additional help on WiFi needed

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Additional help on WiFi needed

Postby blevo on Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:49 am

I'm having trouble getting my usb device working properly. Or rather I'm having trouble getting it and Linux to play nice together.

I'm working with Cassandra and it will recognize that I have my wireless device in. Well, from the GUI everything seems to be working but I don't have any choices under 'wireless networks' and if I 'choose other wireless' and put in all the details it just says 0%

It does the same now that I've made sure I have the prism driver installed using ndiswrapper.

After removing my ethernet connection and running mintWifi.py this is the output:

    -------------------------
    * I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
    -------------------------
    * II. querying ndiswrapper...
    netprism : driver installed
    device (2001:3700) present (alternate driver: prism2_usb)
    -------------------------
    * III. querying iwconfig...
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 no wireless extensions.

    -------------------------
    * IV. querying ifconfig...
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:A6:80:59:80
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:22748 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:22847 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:7799008 (7.4 MiB) TX bytes:3491697 (3.3 MiB)
    Interrupt:16 Base address:0x6000

    eth0:avah Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:A6:80:59:80
    inet addr:169.254.6.191 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Interrupt:16 Base address:0x6000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:44 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:44 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3664 (3.5 KiB) TX bytes:3664 (3.5 KiB)

    -------------------------
    * V. querying DHCP...
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 5955
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
    Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device
    Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:00:00:00:00:00
    Sending on LPF/wlan0/00:00:00:00:00:00
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:0e:a6:80:59:80
    Sending on LPF/eth0/00:0e:a6:80:59:80
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    receive_packet failed on wlan0: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPREQUEST on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 17
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPREQUEST on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    -------------------------
    * VI. querying nslookup google.com...
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


can someone help me sort this out? and also translate that which is supremely relevant in the output as well, so I might learn something in the process

Thanks for reading

oh, and another weird thing, on the graphical wireless driver tool (ndisgtk? or ndiswrapper) it says "Hardware present: No" even though the d-link usb is in. and in the daemon.log it says "NetworkManager: <WARNING>^I nm_device_802_11_wireless_set_mode (): error setting card wlan0 to Infrastructure mode: Operation not supported"
Last edited by blevo on Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
blevo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Somewhat resolved now

Postby blevo on Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:11 am

Ok, so I followed part of this tutorial
http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/linux-tutorials-howtos-reference-material/94685-wireless-lan-linux.html#post470915

The "problem" section of the tutorial. and after the final modprobe ndiswrapper everything clicked and it asked me the keyring thing and Voila! worked. I was pretty stoked... That is until I restarted my computer.

Now what happens is this: I'll boot up Cassandra and it won't recognize that my d-link DWL-122 usb device is even plugged in (even though the device is receiving power and both lights are solid). Not listed under lsusb. I physically unplug and plug it back in.
Code: Select all
lsusb
-- it shows up but the network manager doesn't see it. I type
Code: Select all
sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
and things click and I'm prompted for the keyring password. Everything works.

Now, how can I make it so it works from the get go without having to do the modprobe-ing? Do you think it's just a finicky usb device? Don't remember having this issue in winXP so I'm relatively sure it's not the device. Perhaps the usb controller, not sure how those work.

~Steve
blevo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:15 pm

Postby Boo on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:56 pm

looks like the usb module is being a bit daft.

you could modprobe the usb module (may be more than one) to remove it and insert it again to rescan for usb devices.

I have seen similar problems with usb devices.

You could try:

sudo /etc/init.d/hotplug restart

if not, then the new way is:

sudo /etc/init.d/udev restart

That should force a re-scan.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby OU812 on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:21 pm

Sorry, I am not very familiar with debian. In slackware, you would add this line to rc.modules:

Code: Select all
/sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper


I searched for it by hand (I'm using the xfce edition and I can't find a search function), but I could not find it or an equivalent file. Maybe someone else can help out.

john
OU812
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby blevo on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:49 pm

Thanks for the input john, Boo

For some reason today everything seems to be working just fine. curious

~Steve
blevo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:15 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 33 guests