Problems with ATI Radeon 9800 xt

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Postby Quakee on Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:08 am

I'm gonna start off saying that I'm a complete linux newb. This is the first time I've ever used linux....
Anyway, I wanna raise my resolution past 1024x768. I've already downloaded envy and used it to install my drivers for the ATI Radeon 9800 xt. That worked fine as far as I know. then I edited my xorg.conf file like you said and now it looks like this :
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

I added the new resolutions to all the depths just for good measure since I didn't think it made a difference anyway. I clicked the X in the top right, and saved the file, then hit ctrl-alt backspace. It booted me out to the login screen, I logged in, but I still can't raise my resolution past 1024x768. Am I missing something? I've tried changing it from the ATI catalyst control center, and also from the screen resolution preferences menu. On both the max res is 1024 :(
I also can't get beryl to work the way it used to after I installed the new drivers... but if thats a long fix I'll figure it out later. =]
User avatar
Quakee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:33 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

ATI cards raising the resolution

Postby stoer on Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:45 am

I'm gonna start off saying that I'm a complete linux newb. This is the first time I've ever used linux....
Anyway, I wanna raise my resolution past 1024x768. I've already downloaded envy and used it to install my drivers for the ATI Radeon 9800 xt. That worked fine as far as I know. then I edited my xorg.conf file like you said and now it looks like this :
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

I added the new resolutions to all the depths just for good measure since I didn't think it made a difference anyway. I clicked the X in the top right, and saved the file, then hit ctrl-alt backspace. It booted me out to the login screen, I logged in, but I still can't raise my resolution past 1024x768. Am I missing something? I've tried changing it from the ATI catalyst control center, and also from the screen resolution preferences menu. On both the max res is 1024
I also can't get beryl to work the way it used to after I installed the new drivers... but if thats a long fix I'll figure it out later. =]


Hi,
I think you need to loose a couple of the lower resolutions from the xorg lines...
You have.

EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

Try with...

EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768"
EndSubSection

That worked for me.
Beryl: you changed your ATI driver, try looking at GLX/FGLX Beryl/compiz uses the GLX drivers and you now have FGLX. Theres tons and tons of stuff written on "How to..."
try looking here...
http://www.google.nl/search?hl=nl&q=how ... isty&meta=
http://ubuntuforums.org/search.php?searchid=23088916
http://wiki.beryl-project.org/index.php/FAQ/Beryl
http://ubuntuforums.org/search.php?searchid=23089156
Success.
stoer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:31 pm

Postby Quakee on Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:59 am

OK, I took out the lower resolutions and it didn't work. Then I took out the 1280x768 out just so I can take it back down to 3 (which is how many were in there by default) and it still didn't work. Now it looks like this:

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x800" "1024x768"
EndSubSection

When I go to screen resolution the only resolutions I have available are 1024x768, 800x600, 640x480.

When I go to the ATI Catalyst control center, I have a bunch of other options in the lower ranges, but 1024x768 is still the highest it goes. :(
Thanks for the beryl posts though. I'll look into those if I ever get this resolution thing figured out.
User avatar
Quakee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:33 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

ATI screen res.

Postby stoer on Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:24 am

Quakee,
try the following link, i found it useful...

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... =xorg.conf

and further the forum here or the official Ubuntu forum have a huge amount of info related to your question (search - ATI screen res).
Hopefully you'll find something that works with your hardware.
Success.
stoer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:31 pm

Postby Quakee on Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:47 am

ok, so after many, many hours of searching and having to revert my xorg.conf file back from all the screw ups around 15-20 times I was finally able to raise my resolution!

By oysterterp on http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=400321
Re: Any way to increase max screen resolution with ATI cards?
I tried all the posts above, but with no success. Here's what I did to make it work:
In your xorg.conf file edit the Section "Device" lines that deal with your video card so that they include the following lines:

Option "DRI" "true"
Option "GARTSize" "64"

My file looks like:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "ati"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "DRI" "true"
Option "GARTSize" "64"
EndSection

I guess those few commands finally got it to work... and I don't even know what they do =]
I'm gonna go have a victory smoke... I'm gonna work on getting beryl to work right tom. Had enough for one night.
Thanks for the help stoer
User avatar
Quakee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:33 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:56 am

There is a reason for having a button "New post" in the forum - so you can start a new topic when you have one - please do that!
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 18 guests