Which Mint files are a minimum to boot?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
nooby

Which Mint files are a minimum to boot?

Post by nooby »

Yes I know a weird question. But as a noob I fail to get such.

I used UNetbootin win prog to create a "live" USB stick that can boot on almost any computer. Very handy. Love it

But I want to know. Which files does it use to boot up. And which files are for other purposes like other languages and doing Mem check and running Shelf?

preseed catalog/folder have
cli.seed
ltsp.seed
mint.seed

syslinux catalog/folder have
isolinux.bin
lang
langlist
memtest
splash
syslinux.cfg
vesamenu.c32

casper catalog/folder have
filesystem.manifest
silesystem.squashfs
inird.gz
wmlinuz
these two I know is a must.

.Disk catalog/folder have
base_installable
casper-uuid-gerneric
cd-type
info
release notes url

then we have outside of these catalogs
autorun
casper-rw
md5sum
mint4win

I trust that not all of them is needed. I want it to use english so no need for Swedish lang.
Maybe other files is not needed to boot either.

could someone help please. what is the minimum files to boot?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
DrHu

Re: Which Mint files are a minimum to boot?

Post by DrHu »

http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/#faq