Had to install Mint 2 times. Dual boot W7. 3 installs now??

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
prat

Had to install Mint 2 times. Dual boot W7. 3 installs now??

Post by prat »

Hello,

I'm a super newbie and have never installed anything but windows. I've been using the live usb version of mint for a week and liked it and decided to install it next to Windows 7. The first time I tried to install it I just got a black screen after everything finished and a text login would blink and disappear.

So I reinstalled Mint the exact same way I did the first time and it worked fine. I clicked the "install next to windows7" option. I don't know what the problem was the first time. But now there is a big problem.

When I get the grub menu and it asks me what I want to load, it now has options for Mint at the top, Windows 7 in the middle, and ANOTHER Mint install at the bottom. Did I install Mint twice? I have no idea how to figure this out. And if I did, how do I remove the first one? It's quite a waste of disk space if I really have 3 OSes installed now.

Sorry I'm such a newb.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
prat

Re: Had to install Mint 2 times. Dual boot W7. 3 installs now??

Post by prat »

Ahh man. I think it did install twice. I'm using the "palimpsest disk utility" and it shows the following:

http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/334/61511256.jpg

How can I fix this?