Rio Cali mp3 player

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Rio Cali mp3 player

Postby Paul L on Mon Jul 30, 2007 6:13 pm

I'm getting really frustrated trying to install my Rio Cali mp3 player. I've installed rioutil and jrioutil as advised. I can get access to the player on the command line through rioutil but cannot get jrioutil to recognise the player. Has anyone managed to get this player to work in Mint?

I note that the program quits while running usr/local/bin/rioutil --info, however there's no such file in this folder.

I would appreciate any assistance as this (and syncing my phone) are putting me off using Linux permanently.

Many thanks in advance

Paul
Paul L
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:49 am

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Initialisation problem

Postby Paul L on Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:48 am

Thanks Husse,

I have already tried this route but keep getting the following error


java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "/usr/local/bin/rioutil": java.io.IOException: error=2, No such file or directory
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:459)
at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Runtime.java:593)
at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Runtime.java:431)
at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Runtime.java:328)
at org.mpilone.jrioutil.device.DeviceAdapter.execCommand(DeviceAdapter.java:70)
at org.mpilone.jrioutil.device.rioutil.RioUtilDevice.access$500(RioUtilDevice.java:18)
at org.mpilone.jrioutil.device.rioutil.RioUtilDevice$3.run(RioUtilDevice.java:195)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: java.io.IOException: error=2, No such file or directory
at java.lang.UNIXProcess.<init>(UNIXProcess.java:148)
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(ProcessImpl.java:65)
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:452)
... 6 more



I am assuming that rioutil is installed in the wrong directory but don't fully understand the error message.


Paul
Paul L
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:09 pm

Postby OU812 on Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:39 am

I don't know if this will help, but have you configured your default java? For example,

Code: Select all
$ sudo update-alternatives --config java   

There are 6 alternatives which provide `java'.

  Selection    Alternative
-----------------------------------------------
          1    /etc/alternatives/kaffe-system/bin/java
          2    /usr/bin/gij-wrapper-4.0
          3    /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun/jre/bin/java
          4    /usr/bin/gij-wrapper-4.1
 +        5    /usr/lib/jvm/java-gcj/jre/bin/java
*         6    /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/jre/bin/java

Press enter to keep the default[*], or type selection number: 6
Using `/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/jre/bin/java' to provide `java'.


john
OU812
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Java

Postby Paul L on Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:55 am

Thanks, I appreciate your prompt response.

running the program I get two Java options (same as options 3 and 6 in your example) Option 6 is marked * and +
Does this help?

Paul
Paul L
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:09 pm

Postby OU812 on Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:37 am

It sounds like you installed java 6? Then choose option 6 as in the example.

john
OU812
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Problem solved (sort of !)

Postby Paul L on Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:40 am

I got fed up trying to get my Cali to work with Linux. I sent an e-mail to Rio asking for help. They ignored it. If Rio can't be bothered with me I can't be bothered with Rio. Bought a cheap (£6) mp3 player. Plugged it in - works! £6 for 512mb and it includes an FM radio. Sold!

If anyone ever does get the Cali to work with Linux I would be interested to know.



Paul
Paul L
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:09 pm

Postby OU812 on Sun Aug 05, 2007 1:06 pm

If I have problems getting something to work, I usually do a google with ubuntu. For example, I did

"ubuntu rio cali"

and got this hit

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=87225

Basically, a post suggests running the app as root. This is quite common. I have used more than one distro that required running amarok or gnomad2 to sync with my player. It comes down to how the app was packaged.

john
OU812
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby Husse on Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:39 pm

But it is not good at all to run something that connects to the "outer world" and even the internet as root.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 22 guests