Windows in Linux?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Windows in Linux?

Postby T J Tulley on Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:46 am

I have read that software exists which enables a Windows-like environment to be installed in a Linux system. Does this apply to Mint/Bianca?

If so, does it help with transfer problems? In particular, could I run msimn.exe from it, to open Outlook Express?

How can I download and install it?


Yours hopefully, -



Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby msgnomer on Thu Aug 02, 2007 1:04 pm

The software portal has VirtualBox:
http://www.linuxmint.com/software/?sec=item&id=59

I haven't used it (or any VM stuff).
Jess
msgnomer
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: NY, USA

Postby 900i on Thu Aug 02, 2007 1:07 pm

Virtualbox is the way to go.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby T J Tulley on Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:52 pm

Thanks - I've downloaded it (all 2.8 kB!) to Desktop and moved it to Downloads. It's an Archive and Archive Manager can't open it. In Windows I'd use Stuffit - what here?
With many thanks,

Yours sincerely, -



Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby dswaim91 on Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:10 pm

It's not an archive file. It is a mint file. Just click on it and let it do the rest! :D
User avatar
dswaim91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 4:19 pm

Postby T J Tulley on Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:33 pm

Thanks dswalm91 - 2 files downloaded - 1 is an archive, the other is a package of 11.8 MB which has been installing for about an hour - Package Manager doesn't show a progress bar & could do with one. I think the archive is documentation and I shall need it.

AdobeReader similarly came with 2 installation files - one an RPM package, the other a tar archive. I can't get either to work. I've installed various plugins from the Install Software facility, including tar. RPM showed a warning so I didn't mark that; there were various others apparently related to RPM which I did download and install.

Any ideas?
Yours hopefully, -



Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby linuxviolin on Thu Aug 02, 2007 6:42 pm

T J Tulley wrote:AdobeReader similarly came with 2 installation files - one an RPM package, the other a tar archive.


You are sure to have downloaded of Linux Mint Software Portal as msgnomer said it to you ? :roll:

http://www.linuxmint.com/software/

You should have a .mint file, not tar or RPM! It is enough to click on the file to launch the installation. Very easy.
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby T J Tulley on Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:16 pm

Thanks Linuxviolin.

I have done the downloads again from Linuxmint.com/software and although they are named as mint files, the actual downloads are gzip archives - I downloaded both Acrobat Reader and also PDFedit as an alternative.

VitualBox also downloaded as a mint file but that too is in a gzip archive. I need software to unzip these.

Please can you suggest a suitable tool?
Yours hopefully, -

Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby skampo on Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:37 pm

It seems to me you are talking about Bianca. If that is the case you may need to go to this thread http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1206 and follow those steps. After doing the steps in that thread install "mintinstall" You should then be good to install from the portal.
skampo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:39 am

Postby T J Tulley on Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:44 am

Thanks again - sorry I'm dim. This is a new environment. Yes - it is Bianca Light now with a lot of updates and additions - evidently not enough.

I can't find /etc/apt/sources.list - I've opened Software Sources in the All Programs list in Bianca (aka Start) but that doesn't help.

With many thanks,

Yours sincerely, -



Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby linuxviolin on Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:45 am

Indeed if you use Bianca the .mint files are not useful, you must use Cassandra.

I strongly advise you to use Cassandra, with a fresh install or, if you prefer (but really not advised), try an upgrade:

http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php/How_to_upgrade_to_Cassandra

We strongly recommend Fresh installs


I guess that it is best than you can make. It is always preferable to use the last versions of the distribs, moreover by doing that these problems will disappear. :wink:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby T J Tulley on Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:13 am

Thanks a lot. Consternation!

If I do a fresh install of Cassandra, how can I import into that all the stuff I've accumulated in Bianca? The only place I can put Cassandra is either in a new partition on a new 500 GB SATA HDD not yet installed, or in a 69 GB extended partition in my "Images" HDD - at present Primary EIDE slave.

Then what about booting? I guess I need to install Grub on a floppy - how do I go about that?

Yes, I've Bookmarked its Manual - it's daunting! This whole episode is interruption to a very busy programme - and I'm 88.

BTW, I've just posted another question in this forum on topic Networking - that may be relevant to this discussion.

With many thanks,

Yours sincerely, -



Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby linuxviolin on Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am

And what about backup of your personal data? Maybe on an external drive. Then after you format your drives, install Cassandra and copy/paste your data. For Grub, with a fresh install, no problem. It will be on the MBR.

Of course with a Fresh install you loose all your installed applications and system settings but you will be able to reinstall all that afterwards, even if that can take a little time. You will have a clean, up to date system and you will be able to use all its functionalities, like the .mint files for example, without problems.

I ensure you that it is the best solution and simplest! :)

If really you do not wish absolutely to do that, perhaps try to add in /etc/apt/sources.list the Cassandra repository:

Code: Select all
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository cassandra/


Then reload Synaptic and you should see mintinstall. Maybe you can install it in Bianca without problem.... Just maybe. :?
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby T J Tulley on Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:55 am

Please say: is the Upgrade which is offered every time Updates are installed when I log on at the beginning of the day, the same as Cassandra - or is it a later version of Bianca?

I'm having trouble with downloads - yesterday I started installing the package virtualbox and the package manager ran for several hours - eventually I quit - receiving a warning message.

Now I've just tried to install a small package supporting networking from Install Software, and Synaptic Package Manager produces an Error box saying:
E: The package virtualbox needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it.
E: Internal error opening cache (1). Please report.
How do I report this?

Just before that, it suggested a command line, but I copied it and Terminal refused to accept a Paste. I had forgotten the line and can't get back to it.

Your reply about backup et c. has come in while I'm typing this - as I said yesterday: I can't find /etc/apt/sources.list - where do I go for that?

Yours hopefully, -

Theo Tulley.

tj.tulley@physics.org
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby linuxviolin on Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:33 pm

For the error message maybe this one can help you:

http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?highlight=apt&t=3036

Try in a terminal: sudo dpkg --configure -a

T J Tulley wrote:I can't find /etc/apt/sources.list - where do I go for that?


By taking Windows like model, /etc and /apt are folders such as for example “Program Filesâ€￾, and sources.list is a file.

In a terminal type: sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
type your password and then seek the line where is the Bianca repository and add the line:
Code: Select all
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository cassandra/


Save and exit.
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], kinger0003, porosjp and 27 guests