How to access two hard drives? each with a different OS

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ilikelegance

How to access two hard drives? each with a different OS

Post by ilikelegance »

Can I have two OS on two different hard drives active at the same time, and switch between the two?

One hard drive has Win Xp and the other one has Linux Mint. The computer only loads when one hard drive is connected to the motherboard. If both are connected, it doesn't fully load.

I've never tried linux before. It was recommended.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
bobcollard

Re: How to access two hard drives? each with a different OS

Post by bobcollard »

ilikelegance wrote:Can I have two OS on two different hard drives active at the same time, and switch between the two?

One hard drive has Win Xp and the other one has Linux Mint. The computer only loads when one hard drive is connected to the motherboard. If both are connected, it doesn't fully load.

I've never tried linux before. It was recommended.
I don't think so, you would need two operating systems with two motherboards to run them alternately on one monitor. When we speak of dual booting we mean the option of booting one or the other system not both at once.
pompom

Post by pompom »

Welcome to Linux Mint!