X failed to start up

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

X failed to start up

Postby Ramint on Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:34 pm

Hello Every body,
I'm new to the world of linux, this night I have installed Linux mint on my pc, and every thing went fine and smooth. I lunched Envy trying to download the ATI driver for my graphic card, and I use the automatic mode. when the download finished, and I pressed the apply button, a message appeared asking me if I wnat to restart my pc, I pressed yes. when I restarted the pc I can no more use the gdm, and xorg is not running, all I have is a command line.
my question is, how to restor the original settings of the xorg to the state befor the installation of the ati driver?

thanks in advance.
best regards Ramintu
Ramint
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby raezel on Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:19 am

Open the xorg.conf (vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf) and edit it so that you replace every fglrx with ati.
raezel
Level 1
Level 1

Postby scorp123 on Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:49 am

raezel wrote:Open the xorg.conf (vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf) and edit it so that you replace every fglrx with ati.
1. You forgot sudo ... As normal user he won't be able to save the file
2. Why vi ...? He already wrote that he is a beginner, so suggesting a vi as editor isn't really going to help ...

Better command would be: sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

If nano should not exist, it can be installed on the fly: sudo apt-get install nano
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8

Postby raezel on Fri Aug 03, 2007 5:47 am

scorp123 wrote:1. You forgot sudo ... As normal user he won't be able to save the file