RAID support for Highpoint RocketRaid

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Friendly dog

RAID support for Highpoint RocketRaid

Post by Friendly dog »

Hi,

I am a newbie in Linux, installed it recently and have a problem with my RAID being properly recognized.
Please bear with me while I describe the issue, it is like this:

I have an old home computer:

ASUS P3B533
Pentium 4 Northwood 3.06GHz dual thread
2GB RAM
Radeon 9600 AGP
3COM 905 Ethernet card
Highpoint RocketRaid 1740 SATA controller
3 hard drives: an 80GB IDE MAXTOR and two 1.5TB SATA WD green

The old OS is Windows XP 32 bit PRO SP3, installed on the 80GB IDE drive.
With the intention of turning it into a sort of storage server for music and movies I added few months ago two new SATA drives of 1.5TB each and a SATA controller HIGHPOINT ROCKETRAID 1740 as the mb is too old to have SATA.
I organized the SATA disks as one mirrored RAID of 500GB for the important files, using a chunk of 500GB from each SATA drive. The remaining 1000GB of each drive was turned into JBOD, so in the end I have:

--500GB mirror raid
--1TB JBOD 0
--1TB JBOD 1

This is working nicely, with no problem, under Win XP.

Then I decided to install LINUX as well. I chose LINUX MINT 8 KDE main edition, made a CD, tried it then installed it on the 80GB IDE disk.
I resized the windows partition to make room for LINUX (5GB SWAP and 20GB EXT4).

Everything worked smooth, no error messages, and it is running fine now with one exception: the RAID.