Constant switching from Disconnected to Connectiion Establi

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Constant switching from Disconnected to Connectiion Establi

Postby welders4linux on Sat Aug 04, 2007 12:35 am

Hello, I am a mint newbie but have used ubuntu for a couple of years now.

I noticed after I did a massive updated 199MB or so that my connection status (wired) constantly switches from Disconnected to Connection Established

please send help, other then this very annoying attrib I much like mint
welders4linux
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:42 am

Welcome to Mint welders4linux
That is a really odd thing...
Is it really shifting or is it just that is seems so?
What kind of connection is it and what hardware do you have? Cassandra?
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby welders4linux on Sun Aug 05, 2007 1:08 am

Thanks for the reply :o)

yes I am being dropped and reconnected on a constant basis, I am using Cassandra on an older Pavillion XP 1500 (1.3GHz cpu, 1Gigabyte of RAM)

I am running through a linksys router model: befw11s4

Do not know if it is perhaps the connectors/cable/laptop problems regarding the wired connection...Don't think so however.

Im now trying to enable my wireless under WEP, unprotected works fine, but thats not an option.
welders4linux
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Husse on Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:16 am

OK - this could help, not sure.
Some broadband routers get problems after heavy use, some cache may be filled.