Dualboot and partions?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Dualboot and partions?

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:51 am

Hi All

I want to install Linux mint and Win XP on my laptop.

Its a Dell 8200 with 40 GB Harddisk and 512 ram.

Questions:

1) How should I devide my harddisk up? how much space to each operating system

2) I have used Windows all my life but now I want to try something new. But can't find a updated article if I should use KDE or GNOME version?

3) can I have a partion who windows and Linux can read from?
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:27 am

Welcome to Mint mogwai
I suppose you have XP already. Start with a defrag, and if you find a defragmenter that shifts all files towards one end of the disk that's fine. Normal Windows defrag may leave files after a wide gap of empty disk. Check carefully use the defrag analysis to see if there are files "way out".
You can then resize the windows partition. How much you leave for windows depends on how you intend to use your computer - but lets say 15 GB win and 25 GB Mint.The best way is actually to do this before install from the live CD and leave 25 GB as unused space - the installer likes that better.
In the 25 GB create a root ( / ) partition of 4 GB and the rest for a /home partition. In Linux all your data is kept in home. This way you can reinstall without loosing data.
Select manual partitioning when you install to have full control over this.
Gnome or KDE is a matter of taste. In Mint I would recommend gnome, it has a look you recognize (our gnome is a bit tweaked)
MInt can read and write to ntfs and fat32
Windows can't read ext3 which I recommend you use without some third party software
So you can share your windows partition(s) easily
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:49 am

Thx... loves a quick respons ;)

I want to format my laptop so I'm starting from a fresh :)

I only want Windows/office og my windows partion. So I will devide the harddisk as this:

12 GB to windows [NTFS]
18 GB to Linux Mint [NTFS]
10 Gb share partion [NTFS]

But didn't understand what you said about ext3 - I'm a really newbie :D

I have started downloading Linux Mint - GNOME version :)
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:42 am

By the way: Does anyone have a stepbystep guide like this:

http://www.hezardastan.org/breezy_xp_dualboot/en/

to Linux Mint?

I'm especially interested in how I should do when I want to make a partion where windows and Linux mint can read from ?
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby newW2 on Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:26 am

User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:00 am

uuuh...looks good ;) thx

But I can't figure out what drive he uses to share with windows? and what is a linux swap drive?

He writes that the seperations are not as a new drive in windows. is really important that I can share windows and linux mint files :)
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:44 am

Here what I advise you:

Primary partitions:

13 GB to Windows [NTFS]
6 GB to / (Linux Mint) [ext3]

Extended partitions:

20 GB to /home (Linux Mint) [ext3] or 10 GB in FAT32 (to share your files) and 10 GB /home in ext3 (adapt the size according to your needs, maybe 5 GB and 15 GB is better...)
1 GB to swap (Linux Mint)

Install Windows in first. You will have the choices to choose your Linux partitions (/ and /home) and their format (ext3) during the install of Mint.

Mint can read and write on Windows file system (NTFS) but Windows can't on Linux (ext3) so if you want to share some files between both systems, it is better to have also a partition in FAT32. Windows and Linux can read and write on this.

ext3 is Linux file system. / is the system partition. /home is your personal folder. Swap is a partition for virtual memory, and you can use a documentation for Ubuntu because Mint is based on Ubuntu. So what applies to Ubuntu applies to Mint. :)
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 11:24 am

thx :)

But how many partitions shall I make when I install windows?

only 2(C: with 13 GB for windows and a D: with 27 GB) and wait with the rest to I install Linux mint (I want to have a FAT32 partion with 10 GB- but couldn't understand if I should make this partition as I install windows or wait?)?
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Aug 04, 2007 11:40 am

Install Windows in a 13 GB C: partition in NTFS and make a 10 GB D: partition in FAT32.
There thus remain 17 GB of free space which you will divide during the installation of Mint. :wink:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 11:54 am

THx :D

I'm all excited in how this will work :)

Goood support :D
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:41 pm

I think you will make it. And remember - use a bout 4 GB for a root ( / ) partition and the rest of the Mint section for a /home partition

Og mogwai posta i det danska eller svenska forumet om språket blir att hinder
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:50 pm

thx again Husse ;)

I will get back in how its going ;) Don't hope the language are going to be a problem ;)

But I have now done following:

C: 15 GB Windows
D: 10 GB Shared

Installing windows and updating it :)

I'm blogging the experience and hope I will love Linux. I want to see if a Newbie can install Linux and use it without feeling left outside of the windows world :)
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 5:25 pm

hmmm... I get some warnings when I start from the CD?

Something about some blocks?
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby mogwai on Sat Aug 04, 2007 5:39 pm

following comes when I start the from the disk:

[198.944000] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0
[237.048000] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0
modprobe: WARNING: Not loading blacklisted module ipv 6

and

Wrong chipset installed ..915 *something* onlu works on INTEL 800/900?

and when it starts up from live CD:

There was an error strating the Gnome settings Daemon.....

I don't dare to install LinuxMint before I know what it is :)
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:19 pm

Maybe your CD is bad. Did you check the MD5 before burning? Try to burn another disc, perhaps still download the ISO, it is maybe broken. (http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php/Burning_ISO_on_Windows)

mogwai wrote:There was an error strating the Gnome settings Daemon


I guess that it is a known problem with the LiveCD. I had it with Bianca, with Cassandra I do not remember (it is too far :wink: ) but normally that should not prevent you from using the LiveCD. After the install you should not have this message any more.

To make the installation do not forget to keep the default settings:
Installation Notes:
- do not install anything and keep your session in English if you're planning to install. You can always change the language once the system is installed (this is due to a problem in the installer).
(http://www.linuxmint.com/download.html)
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby Husse on Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:02 am

modprobe: WARNING: Not loading blacklisted module ipv 6
This is supposed to happen. This module (=driver) can cause problems and ipv6 is hardly in use yet.
Wrong chipset installed ..915 *something* onlu works on INTEL 800/900?
This is something that we all get if we don't have intel - it's an attempt to use the intel chipset driver, for some reason the system tries to load it on all systems. When installed just remove it (through synaptics)
[198.944000] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0
[237.048000] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0

This could be harmless - it seems that it tries to read from the floppy (floppy = fd0)
Did you see the desktop?
As linuxviolin says it may be a faulty disk - always check the md5 (in windows you have to install a md5 checker - and only check the md5 of the entire ISO) and burn at the slowest speed possible - 2x if you can
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mogwai on Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:35 am

Now I have checked MD5 and have burnt again in 4x speed. and same problems are coming.

I do get to the desktop and it runs normal when it starts up.

I will try to install it now ;) hate when I have burnt 2 disk for no reason :(

I have read a review where the persons firefox are craching some times and the menu bar are going cold. But hope there are updates on the way to correct this ;)
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby mogwai on Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:08 am

ups... I have runned into problems again... yaa, I'm a noob ;)

I reach to the screen where I have to make the partitions.

I got:

/dev/sda
/dev/sda1 NTFS /media/sda1 15726 MB 4900 MB
/dev/sda5 10487 MB unknown
free space 13793 MB

I read the guide but its only for people who have tried it before and I'm a Noob so I don't understand it :(

I guess I have to hit "new partition" and then I get this:

Type for the new partition: Primary/logical
Partition size:
Location for the new partition: Beginning/End
Use as: ext3/ext2/xfs and so on
Mount point:

Can someone help me in how I should do the partition? and how I should configurate every partion?
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Postby Husse on Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:08 pm

You have one disk - thats sda
All disk partitions are in /dev (but can't be used from there, it's just "where the hardware turns up")
They are the mounted in different locations /media being the most used for "non special" partitions
You wanted to use a 10 GB partition to share between Linux and Windows - that would be sda5 - it's unknown because it is not formatted (I think)
Then you have free space - no partition there yet.
The next thing you have to do is to create an extended partition of the entire free space (this is because of the four primary partition limit)
In the extended partition you create three logical partitions with the following mount points:
swap about 1 GB
/ root about 4 GB
and /home the rest
There is a pull down menu to select from.
To do this you must select the advanced partitioning - I'm sorry I don't remember if it's called that - the last choice at the bottom anyway.
As you see mount point is simply "where you want the partition to be"
Now a word of caution - install Windows first if it's not installed, because it will destroy grub if installed after Linux
It's no big deal to fix it - there is a how to in the wiki - but I don't want you to have to do that
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mogwai on Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:53 pm

thx, again :)

I think its because the instal are different from Bianca and the are some fouls.

But I manage to come to step 6 out of 7 in cassandra and then I wait 30 minuts and nothing happens :(
User avatar
mogwai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:42 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bodhidharma, carsten87, Jim Hauser, mattfaria12, mintoreo and 38 guests