is mint for me ???

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

is mint for me ???

Postby dragonwings on Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:02 am

i am a ubuntu 7.04 user and have found that the support on forums and info on ubuntu dont fill my requirements
so im thinking of trying mint as i heard it was born from ubuntu so i figure it may be familiar to me
things i need to do and hope mint and mint forum people can handle

1/ make a bakup of my completed setup of mint to a dvd disk is the form of a live cd which will load my setup to my hard drive or optionaly another if possible,but would be happy with a install to my hard drive(note i have looked into doing this with ubuntu for over 3 weeks and tried all sorts of programs but they had bad insructions commands that didnt work etc} i need basic intruction that a monkey could understand .

2/ webcam that works online or off as it would in windows wopuld be nice

3/my bt878 chip pci tv card would be great to have that working .
i did look at some bbtv drivers but could not understand how to install
again need some basic easy to understand step by step insructions

4/ all the normal stuff like dvd play shrink decode recode burn etc
i got all that stuff sorted on ubuntu so it should be no big deal on mint ??

what is the best version of mint and what makes it better than the rest

please if you think mint /mint/ people cant or wont help me please advise on a distro that will .
dragonwings
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:32 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby clem on Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:38 am

For 1/ you can use remastersys. It hasn't been tested on monkeys but it works pretty well on humans :)

2/3/4/ should be basically the same under Mint than under Ubuntu.

There are less people here than on Ubuntu's forums so potentially you should get less answers but more attention.

As Mint is a liveCD and you can try it for free without much effort I strongly recommend you make your opinion as to whether it's suitable for you or not.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5541
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby red-e-made on Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:31 pm

I agree with Clem. Try the LiveCD, running as much of your stuff as possible. If you like it, install it. If you run into trouble, there's this forum and the IRC chat (#linuxmnit.com). Good luck.
User avatar
red-e-made
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:31 am

Postby Adler on Mon Aug 13, 2007 6:50 pm

i am a ubuntu 7.04 user and have found that the support on forums and info on ubuntu dont fill my requirements


dragonwings,

I went from SuSE (9.0 through 10.x) to Ubuntu. I've noticed that the Forums [/i]do change over time. I found Linux Mint, looked around the community, and say a great bunch of people here.

I've not been here long, but the few questions that I have had, have been answered very well. Of course don't give up on the UBUNTU Forums. And -- Google, Google is my friend. LOL!

Adler

User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

dragonwings

Postby dragonwings on Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:34 am

thanks for the good info guys ,looks like it's just a waiting game so closes to having a worthy linux system i can taste it . :D

i did try remastersys and it made a perfect live cd of my setup which i then installed to hard drive ,but when i booted the hard drive ,the grub loaded and seemed all good but when the loading bar came up it froze there.
dragonwings
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:32 am

Postby jhouse59 on Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:47 pm

I just installed Mint to my hard drive on another partition . Can I ask how do I get "remastersys"?Trying to wean myself from Windows. :oops:
User avatar
jhouse59
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:27 pm
Location: Eastern Tennessee,USA

remastersys

Postby dragonwings on Mon Aug 20, 2007 8:04 am

http://linux.softpedia.com/progDownload ... 26479.html


thats where you can get remastersys
dragonwings
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:32 am

Postby Adler on Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:36 am

thats where you can get remastersys


dragonwings,

Thanks for that Link. I've been looking for something like this forever!

Adler
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

Postby Adler on Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:55 pm

dragonwings,

I have to get back to you here.

Have you run remastersys?

I've been trough the WiKi. And, did the install.

Is there a GUI. Or, what is the script there?

Adler
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

Disable Networks

Postby jhouse59 on Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:50 pm

I just made a LiveCD from the install I did of Mint. I want to do a back-up DVD. How do I disable my network? I don't want it to show up. I tried it the first time. It seems like it is trying to get information off of the network. Would it be alright to just delete my network out of the Network folder?
User avatar
jhouse59
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:27 pm
Location: Eastern Tennessee,USA

Postby dragonwings on Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:14 am

might be some help there on remastersys

http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/index.php?f=83
dragonwings
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:32 am

Postby Adler on Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:29 am

dragonwings,

Thanks for that!

Adler
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

how to install/use remastersys

Postby dragonwings on Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:48 am

note i used this on ubuntu 7.04 should work on mint

heres what i did to install remastersys

i added all!! of the line below to repository

deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository romeo/

then in terminal

sudo apt-get update

then in terminal

sudo apt-get install remastersys

when finished type
remastersys in terminal to start remastersys

it explians itself from there
dragonwings
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:32 am

Postby Adler on Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:10 am

dragonwings,

I guess I should say "Welcome" to Linux Mint! I've also crossed over from U 7.04.

I'll try that GEdit thing into my APT repos, and see what happens.

When you launch remastersys from command line is there a list of what you want to do?

I'm thinking that this is a real killer application. I've tried CRON jobs in the past, but never was really happy. Or, better put -- could not trust the result.

Adler
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

Postby dragonwings on Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:47 am

yeh you just type remastersys in terminal and it fires up there are are few options once you see it you will figure it easy
i used the custom iso option
dragonwings
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:32 am

Postby Adler on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:48 am

dragonwings,

Thanks for that.

I tried to PIM you, but couldn't sent the PIM.

I think that this has gotten a bit off topic. If you know what I mean.

Drop me an e-mail address if you would like.

Adler
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Reorx and 43 guests