Changing default program?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Changing default program?

Postby himawari on Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:24 am

How would I go about changing which program opens a sound/video file by default? It's currently Totem Movie Player and I would like to change it to mplayer instead. I'm running Mint 8.
(I saw the option to change it under Control Centre > Preferred Applications > Multimedia, but I don't know what the next step is.)
himawari
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:09 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Changing default program?

Postby proxima_centauri on Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:52 am

Another way is to right-click the media you are playing. For instance, if you right click an avi file, go to Properties -> Open With. Whatever you change the default program to, that program will now open any future avi files.

In regards to Preferred Applications, you should be able to switch the default to mplayer (I think the GUI you refer to is now Gnome MPlayer?). In any case, if the entry does not exist, select Custom and use the command you desire, such as mplayer or gnome-mplayer.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Changing default program?

Postby himawari on Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:20 am

I've been doing the right click thing for awhile and it's been rather troublesome.

I tried typing "gnome-mplayer" into the box that un-greys when the "Custom" option is selected but it still opens up in Totem?
himawari
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:09 am

Re: Changing default program?

Postby gibbs1984 on Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:09 pm

Install Ubuntu Tweak and you'll be able to change loads all in the same window via a GUI, amongst other things.
Linux Mint 15 Nadia (Cinnamon) 32bit.
User avatar
gibbs1984
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:40 pm
Location: Hemel Hempstead, England


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GlynG, Loloto and 26 guests