Setting up internet connection--help needed

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Setting up internet connection--help needed

Postby subramanian on Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Hi I am new to Linux.

I have problem setting up the internet.

I am able to connect to internet through pppoe in windows.

In Linux,

When i type

sudo pppoeconf

it says eth0 detected.

And i takes me to a new screen, it searches for the device and says device not properly connected. But when I do a ping to my ADSL modem, I am able to do that succesfully. Also, the ethenet light in my modem is active.

I have given the static ip address as 192.168.1.10
and the subnet mask as 255..255.255.0

Can anyone describe me in detail about setting up the connection.
subramanian
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby timmyflight on Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:02 am

in terminal type sudo modprobe eth0
then type sudo dhclient eth0

for wireless
sudo modprobe ath0
sudo dhclient ath0
maybe that might help
Image

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, and your house
Acts 16:31
User avatar
timmyflight
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: PA, USA

Postby scorp123 on Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:06 am

timmyflight wrote:in terminal type sudo modprobe eth0
'modprobe' expects module (= device driver) names, not device names. Those commands you posted are unlikely to work. :roll:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby timmyflight on Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:18 am

OOPS... I was responding from my work (M$) computer,
from memory.... :oops:
Image

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, and your house
Acts 16:31
User avatar
timmyflight
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: PA, USA

Re: Setting up internet connection--help needed

Postby scorp123 on Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:21 am

subramanian wrote:I am able to connect to internet through pppoe in windows.
Best thing would probably be if you booted into Windows and systematically wrote down all the settings there, e.g. check with 'Control Panel' which device is configured how (e.g. IP adresses? Netmask? Dynamic IP or static IP? etc.) and then tried to replicate those setting on Linux. Also: Check your provider's forums, FAQ sections and tech support pages. At least here where I live all providers will give you the needed general tech information (= it works on any OS that speaks TCP/IP) in their tech sections so it might be worth to check it out. Even if they only give such infos for Windows or e.g. Mac OS (some providers here just do that) that would be sufficient to correctly apply those settings to Linux.

Because the little info you give is not nearly enough and without knowing how your setup is supposed to look like (e.g. by looking at the working Windows settings) any hints we give here would amount to wild guessing and I doubt that this woul get you anywhere unfortunately.

Can you please check your Windows settings and post them here? And check your provider's pages?

Regards.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 on Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:22 am

timmyflight wrote:OOPS... I was responding from my work (M$) computer, from memory.... :oops:
No problem :wink: You're trying to help and that is what counts. 8)
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 35 guests