Dual boot xp/Mint 8

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
xarune

Dual boot xp/Mint 8

Post by xarune »

Hi, I'm brand new to Linux and my question is about dual booting. I have looked around Google and this forum for answers, but I can't seem to find what I need.

I have an old gateway desktop with windows XP on it, and I would like to dual boot it with Mint 8. When I put the Mint CD in and start the installation, I get to the part where it asks how I want to install it, and there is the override option, and a manual partition option. I heard there was a side by side option if Mint recognized another OS present, so you could choose what OS you wanted to use when you start up the PC.

Any ideas how to get Linux to recognize XP, and do the side by side install?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
StanTheMan

Re: Dual boot xp/Mint 8

Post by StanTheMan »

When you start with a hard drive that has Win XP installed , the Win XP operaitng system will normally be installed iun what it calls C:drive (and what Linux calls ' sda1 ' or ' hda1 ' . Also most Microsoft installations also have one or two hidden partitions with back up or special computer machine menus.