Mint 9 - some impressions

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
TDT

Mint 9 - some impressions

Post by TDT »

Hello everyone,

I'm using a mint4win installation of Mint 9 since it was released, and I wanted to share some thoughts with everyone.
First of all, I'm not a total newbie in Linux, I played in quite a few distros over the years, but I can't say I ever used one as my primary os, I just wanted to learn.

Before Mint, I had Ubuntu, but I wasn't too happy with it (won't go into details now). So I decided to give this a try. To my surprise, things went on much smoothly than with Ubuntu. The +es:
- my dual-monitor setup worked like a charm after installing the nvidia proprietary driver. In Ubuntu, although the monitor setup was ok in nvidia's control panel, the monitors worked only in clone mode, I couldn't drag windows from a monitor to another, for example.
- the network worked right from the start (dhcp, ethernet cable). In Ubuntu I had to manually type the ip, dns, etc. Yes, dhcp was enabled, but for some reason it wouldn't update.
- overall system performance is very good, and keep in mind that it's not a "true" installation (I understand that the mint4win way has some performance loss).
- no hardware issues at all, everything was recognized, even my crappy webcam. :D
- great software manager and great update manager.
- I even got my keyboard's special keys (Logitech G11) to work with Exaile, and I really needed them when I'm in a fullscreen game or something.

Now, for the "not so good" part: