A Query Regarding Linux Mint (Helena)

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
PhD

A Query Regarding Linux Mint (Helena)

Post by PhD »

Greetings.

Firstly, I would like to state that I am a novice when it comes to using Linux, hence why I came to this forum seeking for help. I have read and searched for solutions regarding my problem through Google and this forum however they were futile, seeing as I am still unable to resolve this conundrum I am having. If you the reader, would be so kind to assist me with my needs - I shall be truly grateful.

As stated, I am running Linux Mint 8, Helena under a VirtualBox. I am having a problem regarding the animations - yes, I am getting the "Desktop effects could not be enabled" error.

I have:

Installed: xserver-xorg-video-intel (2:2.9.01ubuntu2)
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family

I have tried running compiz-check on Terminal and here is the message I was presented with.

Code: Select all

Gathering information about your system...

Distribution:          Linux Mint 8
http://www.linuxmint.com/rel_helena.php
 Desktop environment:   GNOME
 Graphics chip:         InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH VirtualBox Graphics Adapter
 Driver in use:         vesa
 Rendering method:      AIGLX

Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...

Checking for hardware/setup problems...

At least one check had to be skipped:
 Error: vesa driver in use 

Would you like to know more? (Y/n) y