Problem with Synaptic

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Problem with Synaptic

Postby T J Tulley on Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:29 am

I first tried Synaptic in Bianca and it rapidly became corrupt.

Now in Cassandra I have used it to download vmplayer 1.0.2-2 and when I tried to install that a notice appeared saying that there is an update, vmplayer 2.0.0.0 so I downloaded that, selecting the tar version. That is sitting on my Desktop, and it unpacked as vmware player distrib containing 9 folders which are sitting in /home/downloads. It still doesn't appear in Synaptic Package Manager - I've tried to drag it there, or copy/paste, and I can't see how to install it.

Next I want to use it to set up a Win XP Pro virtual machine, and no doubt then I shall be back with more questions!

Yours hopefully, -

Theo Tulley.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Ede on Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:41 pm

It seems that you have downloaded the source-file. Use a terminal, navigate into the folder, and write

./configure
make
(I recommend installing checkinstall first, sudo apt-get install checkinstall)
(If using checkinstall;)
sudo checkinstall
(If not;)
sudo make install

The ./configure-process MUST be 100% correct. If something is not, it will tell you, so you can fix it.
User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Postby 900i on Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:46 pm

Or go to the software portal and install Virtualbox, which is faster than Vmware and open source.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Problem with Synaptic

Postby T J Tulley on Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:56 am

900i wrote:Or go to the software portal and install Virtualbox, which is faster than Vmware and open source.


Thanks - I downloaded that a month ago via Bianca but Synaptic then became corrupted while installing it, so I was reluctant to try again. Hence attempt with vmplayer.

I have now copied
Virtualbox_1.4.0-21864_Ubuntu_Edgy_i386.deb 11.8 MB
from the Bianca/home/downloads and pasted into my Cassandra/home/downloads.

I would be grateful for a bit of detail about managing Synaptic to install it.

Yours hopefully, -

Theo Tulley.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby 900i on Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:51 am

Cassandra is based on Fiesty, so I don't know if an Edgy .deb will work?...Anyone!
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby newW2 on Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:10 pm

Don't know about the .deb for VirtualBox. However, I just used the Linux Mint Software portal on two machines yesterday .. no problems. You need to open / select the progress carrot and agree to the license agreement, or the install just sits there. If you don't open the progress and just x-out of the install your synaptic can corrupt from such un-necessary roughness. :wink:

The only thing I had to do after to make things run was follow this post:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... box&t=2540
(see the angel naygel post).
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Synaptic

Postby T J Tulley on Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:45 pm

I've just been browsing other forums and found this link announcing VirtualBox back in January:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=679
- a very interesting read.

I note what you say about rough treatment for Synaptic and .deb - it appeared to me that deb and tar were alternatives; I think I had difficulties with a tar version of Adobe Reader so decided to try deb for VB.

Trying to be a good boy, I searched Wiki Mint for tar and deb - no results. I understand that they are alternative forms of compressed packages - please tell me more.

With many thanks,

Yours sincerely, -

Theo Tulley.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Postby newW2 on Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:35 pm

This is a good read about building and installation.

http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Software-Building-HOWTO-1.html
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: Synaptic

Postby scorp123 on Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:41 pm

T J Tulley wrote:I've just been browsing other forums...
BTW, could you please enable BBCode in your profile and/or your postings? That would make sure that your postings don't get misformatted so badly when you quote someome else's post. With BBCode disabled all the tags such as "quote" don't work and all you get is misformatted text which is hard to read.

Please keep BBCode enabled.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Problem with Synaptic

Postby T J Tulley on Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:56 pm

Scorp123 wrote: Please keep BBCode enabled.

Thanks for the advice - apologies. I've only just started using the Quote facility - it didn't work this time.
With many thanks,

Yours sincerely, -

Theo Tulley.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Megazell, nomko, richard-g8jvm and 30 guests