KDE Desktop Problem

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Murphy

KDE Desktop Problem

Post by Murphy »

Hi, my name is Dale and I in a huge dilemma and need someone's help right away. I am new to linux and I was wanting to run KDE desktop to try. I saw a forum msg that said grab KDE - all which I did. I made the mistake of setting it as the default desktop and when I go to boot it gives me a low resolution error. I tried everything listed (reconfigure video, run in low res once, etc) to correct the problem but nothing works. I need to remove it at the boot or switch back to gnome at the boot.

I run a boot publishing business and I recently switched to Linux Mint and haven't been able to back up my import files. Can't loose anything.

Can I just reinstall Mint Linux over itself to correct the problem as a worst case? Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is a huge change for me since I have always as a career worked in the Windows World.

Thank you,

~Dale
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
mick55

Re: KDE Desktop Problem

Post by mick55 »

Murphy wrote:Can I just reinstall Mint Linux over itself to correct the problem as a worst case?
Yes. It may be the simplest way of solving your dilemma
Murphy

Post by Murphy »

Thanks for the response. It will not erase my data will it?

~Dale
mick55

Post by mick55 »