SATA HARD DRIVE solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

SATA HARD DRIVE solved

Postby kentuckylodge on Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:18 am

I have tried installing both Cassandra and the new version. I get to the point where partitioning is shown. Manual only is highlighted. When I click forward I am presented with a blank page.

I think there may be a problem with the HD which is a WDC WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 and brand new and able to install Windows, but not any of the Linux OS.

I have checked the web site for WD and they appear not to support Linux. Do I have to change this new 500gb HD to be able to use Linux Mint, which I dont really want to do or is there a way that I can get this HD to work with Linux Mint.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
kentuckylodge
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:02 am

Welcome to Mint kentuckylodge
Is that a USB disk?
That may cause problems but not the drive itself, unless it's really "odd". I could envisage problems with solid state drives for instance....
And of course the standard questions
have you checked the md5sum and burned slowly
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby kentuckylodge on Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:55 pm

Thanks. No it is a normal HD and the burn was OK as I have had no problems with anothr computer.
kentuckylodge
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:59 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:15 pm

kentuckylodge wrote:the burn was OK as I have had no problems with anothr computer.

And you checked the md5sum before burning as asked by Husse?
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby plowran on Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:34 pm

Hey Man.
Im a noob also so I dont know how much I can help.
I have the same HDD as my media HDD and I am about to buy another.
If I am reading correctly you are using this as a master HDD, so this may not help you, I installed on a IDE drive and My SATA WD500 wouldnt mount, I had to go into System settings and set a mount point in the Media folder for the SATA Drive and Enable it with Admin Privileges. Now it works for me (After I setup the NTFS Drives for Read Write). So Im a noob but I know how to mess around a bit.
I doubt this will help but I tried
Philip
plowran
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby kentuckylodge on Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:54 pm

Yes. MD5sum checked out. Where do you mount the HD as suggested by plowran.
kentuckylodge
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:59 am

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:04 am

Ok let's take it a step further. You want to use the disk with ext3 as filesystem? Lets assume you want to use it as your home - then you add a line in fstab like this:
Code: Select all
/dev/sda6 /home           ext3    defaults        0       2

Of course you use what you have instead of sda6, and you need to use sudo to edit fstab
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby plowran on Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:57 am

I Mounted Mine as Backup (Thats the purpose Of the drive) in the /media folder, enabled it, modified it to enable at startup and it works fine
Phil
plowran
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: SATA HARD DRIVE

Postby kentuckylodge on Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:49 am

It appears that the problem was with good old windows. Who would have guessed. I reinstalled with Home XP this time and it works. Why it didnt with vista is anyones guess.
thanks for the replys and at least I can now enjoy Linux Mint.
kentuckylodge
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:59 am

Re: SATA HARD DRIVE

Postby Husse on Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:35 am

Did you burn a new disk in XP? I have heard about problems with disks burned in Vista.
If not there was probably an error in the MBR of the disk that was fixed with the reinstall of XP. And error in this case may not be a real "error" but something unexpected - booting is a complex process.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Reorx and 48 guests