Manually installing packages for an offline pc

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
spidamang
Level 1
Level 1

Manually installing packages for an offline pc

Post by spidamang »

Good day. Forgive the long post.

I've been toying around with linux for a few months. I first started with Knoppix, then Ubuntu and finally to Linux Mint. My biggest hurdle with using Linux was that the pc I installed it on has no internet connection. Let's just say I temporarily rent a small room and getting a dsl line with a required 1 year lock on period is presently impractical.
Anyway, that little setback wasn't really a problem as I had a pretty decent connection at work and I could bum some large downloads from my best friend's broadband connection(where I get most of my iso images :wink: ) and just transfer them to my offline pc via a 2gig USB drive. Sadly this is kind of awkward and at times very difficult to do in Linux for me. When I was using ubuntu this howto really helped a lot and it worked for me to a degree. But the problem was that when I tried to manually install proprietary codecs, I didn't know where to start and frankly it was a bit overwhelming with the dependencies and all. So I thought it was easier to just look for a distro that had codecs out of the box.