WMA playback

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
kunk

WMA playback

Post by kunk »

I am sorry but I am a complete Linux noob even though I have been using Mint for quite some time now. How can I make it play WMA files? It plays everything else just fine right out of the box, including HD WMV (the video part). The only thing that does not work and I need is WMA. Rythmbox tells me I can search for the Windows Media Audio 9 codec when I try to import WMA files in its library, but then it finds nothing.

Thank you for any help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
JasonLG

Re: WMA playback

Post by JasonLG »

kunk wrote:I am sorry but I am a complete Linux noob even though I have been using Mint for quite some time now. How can I make it play WMA files? It plays everything else just fine right out of the box, including HD WMV (the video part). The only thing that does not work and I need is WMA. Rythmbox tells me I can search for the Windows Media Audio 9 codec when I try to import WMA files in its library, but then it finds nothing.

Thank you for any help.
Linux won't play WMA's or AAC's with DRM.
kunk

Post by kunk »

JasonLG wrote:Linux won't play WMA's or AAC's with DRM.
It is DRM-free.
JasonLG

Post by JasonLG »

kunk wrote:
JasonLG wrote:Linux won't play WMA's or AAC's with DRM.
It is DRM-free.
Rythmbox sucks for Video, check out VLC.