Complete idiot newbie needs enlightment from pros

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
guanyu210379

Complete idiot newbie needs enlightment from pros

Post by guanyu210379 »

Halo guys,
I have just seen some screen shots of Linux Mint and I have decided to try it also...it is very interesting..
I have never used Linux before and I just got my first copy of Linux Mint 9 x64 from the net.
Before I start the installation, I have one big question.
I am worried about my GPU, printer, my scanner and my WLAN, Is there any problem regarding the drivers for those things?

My system is :
Q6600 @3GHz
4GB RAM DDR2 1000 CL5 Mushkin
500GB 7200.11 Seagate
Linksys WMP600N (Set to WEP to match the available network)
HIS ICEQ3 HD3850 512MB
HP Officejet K5400n printer (via USB)
Canon LiDE200 Scanner
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
guanyu210379

Re: Complete idiot newbie needs enlightment from pros

Post by guanyu210379 »

Almost forgot...
Another stupid question.
How do you make a dual boot of Linux Mint 9 and Win 7 pro both are x64?
jesica

Post by jesica »

if windows is already on your system, boot into the Mint cd, it will ask you what to do, just click the option that install them side by side

don't worry about your hardware, I reckon all of it will work fine in Mint
Erinsfan

Post by Erinsfan »