add-on problems...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

add-on problems...

Postby frenzis on Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:23 pm

Hi everyone,

I just installed Mint2.0 on my old ibm x30...it came to life once again :D

Everything works fine I cannot complain...all hardware is recognized, even if I actually did not tried the infrared or bluetooth.

I have neither the less a problem... I cannot install any firefox add-ons or dictionaries....

I lately tried to install Mplayer to see a web video..it failed as it cannot find bitypes.h or inttypes.h.

so I came here and found two command lines to try and a link to an add on for firefox.

the downloads just stall..it never start..it does the same for the dictionaries. I click download...after 5 min I have the pop up window, I click install...and the download never happens....it will give me an error after few minutes....

anyone saw this? I m a real newbie on Linux, this is my first full installed system....(got enough of XP :))

Thank you for reading and for any advice.

F.
frenzis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:12 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:38 am

Welcome to Mint frenzis
Perhaps you should ask in the Mozilla forum
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=38
To be sure - the install completed OK?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby frenzis on Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:21 am

Thank you Husse.

Yes the installation went very smooth...not like cassandra that failed twice, reason why I installed Barbara..I saw many old post of ibm x30 with this version working fine.

Thank you for the tip, I'll have a look.

F.
frenzis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:12 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Daniella, Google Adsense [Bot], phil168 and 36 guests