help! via unichrome vn800 solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

help! via unichrome vn800 solved

Postby mint-italy on Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:14 pm

hello, i have a problem... how can i configure my video driver? i have a via unichrome vn800.
thank you...
mint-italy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:45 pm

I'm not sure but I think it's installed by default. I recently removed a lot of video drivers I don't need.
Open synaptic (Install Software) and search for unichrome
If it's not installed it's just to go ahead.
I'm not sure about Cassandra but should be the same
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mint-italy on Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:07 am

hello and thanks for the respost...
in xorg.conf i've seen only "vesa". if i change "vesa" in "via" at reboot pc is ko...
however, i can use vesa driver (i've seen that webpage scroll well :D ), but the big problem is that i can't configure my screen resolution. it's 1280x800 and vesa is 800x600...
how can resolve this problem?
1000 thanks...
mint-italy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:38 pm

Postby nick on Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:58 am

Hi

You could try;

The 30 second unichrome install guide

http://wiki.openchrome.org/tikiwiki/tik ... ource+code

Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby Husse on Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:32 am

Apart from nick's solution you should be able to install in synaptic. However I'm not sure at all what the driver is called in xorg.conf - probably via but it could be s3g or unichrome....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mint-italy on Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:55 pm

After 2 days, I've resolved my problem... I've found my video driver on http://www.openchrome.org. Now also 3d is ok.
Thanks for your help and regards from Italy. :D
mint-italy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:38 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bani4ka, Bing [Bot], clemenzina, colyn, sandraGutierre, user001 and 36 guests