Remove Xubuntu Panel Settings?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
sritzau

Remove Xubuntu Panel Settings?

Post by sritzau »

I am relatively new to Linux but have been messing around with various distros for the past year or so. I really like Mint.

I recently switched a machine from Xubuntu to Mint 8 XFCE. When I set up the machine with Xubuntu originally I had put \home on a separate partition (so that I could switch distros again if I wanted.) To switch I installed Mint 8 XFCE on the first partition and then changed my fstab (following instructions like a monkey) to point to the old \home partition with all of my files on it. Everything went fine and I was back in business in no time.

I then recreated accounts for all of my kids. For some reason, the kids' accounts all retained the Xubuntu panels. I am sure this is just one of those files somewhere, but I don't know where to begin to look. I want to set the kids up to use the regular Mint panel at the bottom of the screen. It may not be relevant, but I did set the kids up as limited users.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Robin

Re: Remove Xubuntu Panel Settings?

Post by Robin »

Yup, I do that too, because I like my panels and stuff to stay the way I set them up.