Newbie. Does Linux Mint support Adobe Creative Suite?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bwz

Newbie. Does Linux Mint support Adobe Creative Suite?

Post by bwz »

I'm a newbie.

I want to install a Linux OS that supports Adobe CS.

Does Linux Mint support Adobe Creative Suite?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
randomizer

Re: Newbie. Does Linux Mint support Adobe Creative Suite?

Post by randomizer »

Which version? Technically Linux does not support Windows software out of the box, but it can be run through compatibility libraries like Wine. Older versions of CS (up to CS2 I think) should work ok, but perhaps not quite up to the stability or performance on Windows. Later versions (CS4 and 5, and perhaps 3) will be unlikely to run properly, or at all.

Check out the Wine application database to see what software runs, what runs well, and what doesn't run at all: http://appdb.winehq.org/
bwz

Post by bwz »

randomizer wrote:Which version? Technically Linux does not support Windows software out of the box, but it can be run through compatibility libraries like Wine. Older versions of CS (up to CS2 I think) should work ok, but perhaps not quite up to the stability or performance on Windows. Later versions (CS4 and 5, and perhaps 3) will be unlikely to run properly, or at all.