Apache install

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tonivines

Apache install

Post by tonivines »

I'm totally new to this so please help!
I'm up for hosting my own website. I've installed Apache but it doesn't seem to be there! I can't find it as a program!!!! I'm running Mint 10. Can anyone help please?
Thanking you,
Toni Vines.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Kendall

Re: Apache install

Post by Kendall »

To install Apache I firmly recommend a full LAMP stack which is easy to set up. LAMP stands for Linux, Apache, MySQL, and PHP. Install it using the following command, it'll prompt you to set up a root password for MySQL which you may opt out of if you don't plan on using any MySQL databases.

Code: Select all

sudo tasksel install lamp-server
Apache is a webserver, not a traditional application so it doesn't run as such. You'll need to start Apache either by using a command I can't recall off the top of my head at the moment, or by rebooting your system. To access Apache you navigate to either http://localhost or 127.0.0.1 in a web browser. To add content to apache you simply place files in your /var/www directory. and navigate to them directly using your browser.
tonivines

Post by tonivines »

Why oh why is everything so bloody difficult with Linux? I've followed the above advice but nothing!