Question Before Installing

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ByteTraveler

Question Before Installing

Post by ByteTraveler »

I've been using Ubuntu for a couple of years now, and have become really frustrated with their unresponsiveness on an issue. Before changing-over to Mint, I'd like to know if this problem is addressed:

It is extremely annoying (to me) that Ubuntu will not (usually) remember window sizes & positions. Apparently, someone there feels it's more "productive" to manually (& needlessly) resize & reposition every single window every single time something is opened?

Before taking the plunge, I'd appreciate it if someone would tell me how Mint compares in this regard.

Thank you in advance!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
solofrog

Re: Question Before Installing

Post by solofrog »

I know exactly what your talking about, and it will remember window sizes while your computer is on. Not sure about a reboot though.
Dave68

Post by Dave68 »

I've never had an issue with Window Size in Mint. I maximize Firefox the first time I use it and regardless of whether I log out or reboot, it's the same size each time.

That being just one example, but I have never had to resize a Window everytime I reboot.

Have Fun,
Dave
Jix

Post by Jix »

Just out of curiosity I checked. Mint remembers window sizes and preferences, even after reboot.
ByteTraveler